Meet the Honorees in TCC’s 2011 African-American History Calendar

By: TCC Release
By: TCC Release

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (January 28, 2011) –

Today, Tallahassee Community College released the names of the 19 individuals who will be honored on Monday, January 31 when the College unveils its eleventh annual Cherry Alexander African-American History Calendar.

The 7 p.m. ceremony, to be held in Turner Auditorium, will kick off TCC’s month-long celebration of Black History Month.

Turner Auditorium is located inside the College’s Fine and Performing Arts Center.

Each year, the calendar showcases African-Americans who have made significant contributions in Leon and surrounding counties. The 2011 calendar theme is “Serving and Making a Difference: Civil War to Present.”

The 2011 calendar honorees are: Mrs. Anita Davis, Dr. Charles Evans, Ms. Beulah Gregory, Mrs. Priscilla Hawkins, Ms. Brenda Holt, Ms. Annie Johnson, Mrs. Lillian Johnson, Mr. John E. Lawrence, Mrs. Patrice Minor-Floyd, Dr. Anne Richardson Gayles-Felton, Elder F.R. Rush, Ms. D. Edwina Stephens, Ms. Shirley Washington and Sheriff Morris Young.

Youth honorees include Breyon Love, L. Bradford Johnson and Ms. Jaquell Lawson.

Military honorees are Ptv. 1st Class Clinton Wooten and Colonel Willie Jenkins.

In addition to a bio on the honorees, the calendar will include key dates in African-American history, as well as a special recognition of and thank you to TCC administrators who have been instrumental in supporting the annual calendar event.

Now in its eleventh year, the calendar will be distributed to 20,000 youth via schools, churches and other community institutions.

Prior to the calendar unveiling ceremony, a 5:45 p.m. reception will be held in the Fine and Performing Arts Center to recognize the calendar honorees.

For more information, call (850) 201-6178.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 114795099 -
Gray Television, Inc.