By: Mariel Carbone | WCTV Eyewitness News
January 2, 2017
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WCTV) -- Local law enforcement is reminding drivers to move over when passing a vehicle stopped on the side of the road.
January is deemed “Move Over” month. Under the Move Over Law, drivers are required to move over or reduce their speed to 20 miles per hour under the posted speed limit when passing a first responder, law enforcement officer, tow truck or other stopped car.
“That helps to avoid collisions with those parked vehicles. It helps limit last minute decision making when you approach those types of vehicles,” said Captain Kelly Hildreth with the Florida Highway Patrol.
According to FHP, more than 200 crashes occurred in Florida during 2017 as a result of stopped vehicles. Nearly 17,000 citations were issued to motorists for failing to move over.
"Everybody's safety on the roadway depends on every driver and every car. They're responsible for the safety of the people in their car and everybody around them and making sure we get to our destination by being aware of what's going on, paying attention, driving with your eyes and mind on the road,” said Hildreth.
Fines in Leon County for failing to follow the Move Over Law start at about $150 and result in three points on your license.