Georgia governor mobilizes state resources ahead of winter storm

By  | 

By: Associated Press; WCTV Eyewitness News
January 5, 2017

ATLANTA (AP) -- Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal plans to declare a state of emergency for 78 counties starting at noon on Friday as a winter storm heads toward the South.

Deal also is ordering state agencies to prepare for up to four inches of snowfall in north and central Georgia.

According to Deal's office, the Department of Transportation will begin treating roads and interstates on Thursday and continue on Friday. State government offices will remain open on Friday.

Deal announced the order on Thursday, saying it will give people and businesses more time to prepare.

Deal says the state will continue monitoring weather forecast models and make adjustments as needed. He says people should stay calm, make preparations and stay aware of weather conditions.

The order is set to end Sunday night.

The 78 counties include Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Elbert, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Hart, Heard, Henry, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lincoln, Lumpkin, Madison, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Rabun, Richmond, Rockdale, Spalding, Stephens, Talbot, Taliaferro, Taylor, Towns, Troup, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, White, Whitfield and Wilkes.

Read the executive order here.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus