No. 4 Noles Host NCAA Regional; Place Six on All-Region Teams

By  | 

Opening up the NCAA postseason at home for the fourth consecutive season, No. 4 Florida State (51-6-1) will begin its road to the 2017 Women’s College World Series by hosting No. 25 Georgia (33-21), Jacksonville State (40-10) and Princeton (25-18) in the NCAA Tallahassee Regional on May 19-21.

Georgia and Jacksonville State will open the regional at 4:30 p.m. on Friday with the game broadcast on ESPN2, while the game between FSU and Princeton will be shown on ESPNU, starting at 7:00 p.m. on Friday. All games of the NCAA Tallahassee Regional will be broadcast on the ESPN family of networks, with specific channels determined each day.

The No. 4 national seed for the Seminoles is the highest in school history and marks the third time in the last four seasons that FSU is among the Top 8 seeds.

The Noles are competing in their 18th consecutive NCAA Championship and are one of nine schools to make the NCAA postseason every year since 2000. FSU has won 10 consecutive NCAA Regional games and have outscored its opponents by a combined score of 29-5 in the regional round since 2014.

FSU in undefeated in all 10 previous meetings against Princeton, dating back to 1990. The Noles won the most recent game, 5-1, in Tallahassee in 2003.

Florida State leads the all-time series against Jacksonville State, 4-2, though the Gamecocks won both games the schools played each other in the 2008 NCAA Tuscaloosa Regional, 4-3 and 10-1.

The Seminoles and Bulldogs have played 14 times previously, with Georgia leading the all-time series, 8-6. UGA has won three straight in the matchup, including the opening round game at the 2016 Women’s College World Series, as Florida State tied a WCWS record by committing seven errors in the 5-4 loss.

The winners of Friday’s games will play at 12:00 p.m. on Saturday, while the losers will play at 2:30 p.m., with the elimination game between the two one-loss teams occurring at 5:00 p.m. Sunday’s championship game will begin at 12:00 p.m., and if the undefeated team loses, the “if necessary” game will start at 2:30 p.m.

Links for television broadcasts, FSU softball radio and live stats will be available at

Tickets for the entire Tallahassee Regional are still on sale. Prices for the full session passes are $20 for adults and $15 for youth and seniors. Single-game tickets will be available at the stadium for $7 for adults and $5 for youth and seniors. Tickets can be ordered either on or by calling 1-888-FSU-NOLE. The ticket office is located at Gate B on the west side of Doak Campbell Stadium and the office hours are Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. ET.

The FSU Clear Bag policy will be in effect for all NCAA postseason events at JoAnne Graf Field. Fans are allowed items that can fit in one 12”x12” clear tote bag or a small 4.5”x6.5” clutch or purse. Items that are not allowed include camera or binocular cases, backpacks, printed pattern bags or any size tote or mesh bags.

Florida State Places Six On NFCA Southeast All-Region Teams
Following a regular season that saw the Seminoles finish with a perfect 24-0 record in conference play, along with reaching the 50-win plateau for the 16th time in program history, Florida State tied a school record by placing six members on the 2017 NFCA Southeast All-Region Teams, as announced by the Association on Thursday.

The Noles tied the University of Florida with four First Team members, as redshirt seniors Jessica Burroughs and Alex Powers, along with juniors Jessica Warren and Morgan Klaevemann were named among the best 12 players in the region.

Senior catcher Sydney Broderick was selected to the Second Team, while redshirt sophomore pitcher Meghan King earned Third Team honors.

It is the fifth time in school history that the Seminoles have had six student-athletes selected to the NFCA All-Region Team.

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole softball.

2017 NFCA Southeast All-Region Teams
First Team
Pitcher, Kelly Barnhill, Florida
Pitcher, Jessica Burroughs, Florida State
Catcher, Carlee Wallace, Auburn
First Base, Alex Powers, Florida State
Second Base, Nicole DeWitt, Florida
Third Base, Jessica Warren, Florida State
Shortstop, Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
Outfield, Amanda Lorenz, Florida
Outfield, Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
Outfield, Morgan Klaevemann, Florida State
Utility/Pitcher, Aleshia Ocasio, Florida
DP or Utility/Non-Pitcher, Kendra Lynch, North Carolina

Second Team
Pitcher, Delanie Gourley, Florida
Pitcher, Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
Catcher, Sydney Broderick, Florida State
First Base, Kayli Kvistad, Florida
Second Base, Aubrey Leach, Tennessee
Third Base, Kasey Cooper, Auburn
Shortstop, Katie Reed, Kentucky
Outfield, Sydni Emanuel, Georgia
Outfield, Tyler Ross, NC State
Outfield, Justine McLean, Florida
Utility/Pitcher, Brittany Pickett, North Carolina
DP or Utility/Non-Pitcher, Brooke Vines Tennessee

Third Team
Pitcher, Meghan King, Florida State
Pitcher, Elizabeth McCarthy, Longwood
Pitcher, Holly McKinnon, USC Upstate
Catcher, Kirsten Mack, Missouri
First Base, Caitlin Plocheck, Lipscomb
Second Base, Mackenzie Boesel, South Carolina
Third Base, Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia
Shortstop, Taylor Wike, North Carolina
Outfield, Megan Geer, Tennessee
Outfield, Ryan Jackson, Bethune-Cookman
Outfield, Alyssa Rivera, Auburn
Utility/Pitcher, Amber Schisler, Campbell
DP or Utility/Non-Pitcher, Maeve McGuire, Georgia