Federal Disaster Assistance Counties

By  | 

The remnants of Hurricane Dennis are still being felt in our area. Twenty-two Georgia counties are now declared disaster areas, and storm victims can now apply for help in Moultrie. Brooks, Colquittt, Cook, Mitchell and Thomas Counties have been declared disaster areas because of Hurricane Dennis.

The Federal Small Business Administration has opened an office in Moultrie at the EMA building at 164 Veterans Parkway. The SBA offers loans to replace damaged personal property and to repair homes and small businesses.

The EMA director says those applying must bring two forms of ID, one with a picture such as a driver's license another with your address on it, such as a phone bill.

This aid will help get those affected back on their feet. Those who don't qualify for an SBA loan can speak to a Georgia Emergency Management agent to receive aid through the state.

The office is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday . SBA reps will be there until next week. For information, call the disaster area office at 1-800-659-2955.