Town Celebrates Sesquicentennial Anniversary

Someone is celebrating the big one: 150 years. Taylor County has reached its sesquicentennial anniversary.

The area now known as Taylor County broke away from Madison County back in 1856.

It is named after our 12th President of the United States Zachary Taylor who served from 1859 to 1851.

December 23rd marks the county's 150th birthday.

Mary Lou Whitfield, who is a 94-year-old Taylor County resident says, "I've been here 94 years, [and] of that time and I've seen a lot of changes. The community has changed mostly from just farming to the early beginning of the timber industry, which is far greater today."

The rural county's population is now up to about 20,000 people.

Taylor County is made up of the county seat of Perry, Steinhatchee and Shady Grove.