TALLAHASSEE, Florida -- September 29, 2012
Automobile insurers have until Monday to show Florida regulators how much they plan to reduce rates on the personal injury protection portion of drivers' policies.
A new PIP law requires all Florida drivers to carry $10,000 in coverage for accident injuries, but created a lower ceiling of $2,500 in coverage for non-emergency treatment to cut down on abuses.
While attempting to comply with provisions aimed at reducing costs and costly PIP fraud at the same time, insurers are looking over their shoulders at hucksters boldly soliciting ways to get around requirements aimed at eliminating the fraud and manipulation of the existing law. Some estimates say the fraud has led to $1.4 billion in rate increases.
The state's insurance regulators are taking a wait-and-see approach as they await the filing requests.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.