Fallen Deputies Honored, New Sheriffs Sworn In

By  | 

Tallahassee, FL-December 2, 2012

A small ceremony Sunday honored several Florida Deputies who died this year.

Three Florida deputies died in 2012. They were remembered during the Florida Sheriff Association's 'Remembering Our Roots' ceremony.

The names of the fallen deputies will be added to a memorial wall next spring.

Detective David White of Clay County was one of the deputies who died. He was killed in a shooting.

"It's really important that no one every forgets the sacrifices that are made by all the men and women on this wall. It's particularly important for the family and his co-workers to know that his memory will live on," says Rick Beseler, Clay County Sheriff.

The two other deputies who died this year are Deputy Barbara Pill of Brevard County and Deputy Christopher Schaub of Broward County.

Pill was killed in a shooting. Schaub died in a motorcycle accident.

There are about 350 names of deceased Sheriffs and Deputies on the wall.

Associated Press Release

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- December 2, 2012

A ceremony is being held in Tallahassee to pay respect to fallen officers and to swear in 15 new sheriffs in Florida.

The Florida Sheriffs Association is holding its New Sheriffs Institute with a Remembering Our Roots ceremony Sunday at the Florida Sheriffs Law Enforcement Memorial Wall in north Florida. A statement from the association says three officers have been killed in the line of duty this year, and this ceremony is an opportunity for the new sheriffs "to pay their respects and see first hand the dedication of Sheriff's deputies."

The organization offers the New Sheriffs Institute every four years following elections. The counties that have new incoming sheriffs are" Brevard, Broward, Calhoun, Charlotte, Flagler, Franklin, Gilchrist, Gulf, Levy, Liberty, Marion, Martin, Monroe, Nassau and Wakulla.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus