Six FSU Researchers Elected to National Physics Society

Florida State University Logo
By  | 

Florida State University College of Arts and Sciences Release: With Six New American Physical Society Fellows, Florida State Ranks Among Nation's Best

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Florida State University’s stellar reputation for high quality scientific research across numerous disciplines was confirmed when six researchers were elected as fellows of the American Physical Society (APS).

The American Physical Society is the nation’s largest and most prestigious professional society dedicated to the advancement of physics research and knowledge. Election to fellowship in the 50,000-member society is limited to no more than one-half of 1 percent of the society’s membership and is a significant recognition by a scientist’s peers of his or her outstanding contributions to physics.

“Those of us who have spent any time with these outstanding FSU programs are not surprised that six of our colleagues would be selected in a single year,” said Vice President for Research Gary Ostrander. “This is another tangible example of the continued upward trajectory of our research efforts at Florida State.”

Florida State tied for second in the nation for the number of APS fellows elected for 2012. The university was outpaced only by the massive Los Alamos National Laboratory, which produced 10 new fellows, and tied with research powerhouses Harvard, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the University of California Davis.

The APS fellows and the language provided on their citations are:

Rufina G. Alamo, a professor of chemical engineering in the Florida A&M University-Florida State University College of Engineering and frequent MagLab researcher, “for her use of well-characterized materials and performance of carefully designed experiments to address structure-property relationships in polyolefins.”
Luis Balicas, a MagLab scholar/scientist, “for experimental studies of unconventional superconductors, heavy fermion materials, and frustrated magnetic systems.”
Paul Cottle, the Steve Edwards Professor of Physics in the Department of Physics, “for the impact of his efforts to improve university physics education, especially for precollege teachers, and his advocacy for effective precollege science education standards and policy in Florida and nationally.”
Peter Hoeflich, a professor of physics, “for outstanding contributions to stellar evolution, radiation hydrodynamics, and nuclear astrophysics, especially in the context of modeling the light curves and spectral evolution of supernova explosions.”
Dragana Popovic, a MagLab scholar/scientist, “for experimental studies of glassy behavior in strongly correlated systems near the metal-insulator transition.”
Peng Xiong, a professor of physics, “for contributions to the understanding of magnetotransport in nanostructured superconductors, ferromagnets, and their hybrids.”

“This year's APS bounty is a remarkable achievement and one that the entire institution can celebrate,” said Sam Huckaba, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. “It is representative of FSU's breadth and excellence in the physical sciences."

MagLab Director Greg Boebinger agreed.

“The single most important hallmark of an excellent research institution is the collective of its talent, the community of its researchers,” Boebinger said. “This award recognizes individual expertise and accomplishment, of course, but having so many awardees in a single year is an extra recognition of Florida State University’s growing stature as a research institution.”

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus