Voters To Decide Primary Winners

By  | 

Tallahassee voters will elect a new mayor for the first time in 12 years.

That process begins with Tuesday's primary.

Commissioner Andrew Gillum, retired computer consultant Larry Hendricks and Zach Richardson, the director of an academic enrichment program, are all on the ballot.

In city commission seat 3, incumbent Nancy Miller is being challenged by newspaper publisher Steve Stewart.

The primary winner wins the seat.

Diana Oropallo, Curtis Richardson and David "Bubba" Riddle are all seeking the now open Seat 2.

"Local government is where 90 percent of all our services are delivered to the citizens," said Leon County Elections Supervisor Ion Sancho. "Yet often times, the citizens don't pay attention to the local races. That's unfortunate," he said.

There will also be primaries in both the Democratic and Republican governor's race.

In that Republican primary, current Governor Rick Scott is being challenged by Tallahasee pharmacist Yinka Adeshina and Puerto Rican born Elizabeth Cuevas-Neunder who bills herself as the only bi-linqual candidate for governor.

On the Democratic side, former Governor Charlie Crist and former State Senator Nan Rich are squaring off in the primary.

There's also one other primary for state wide office.

George Sheldon and Perry Thurston are seeking the Democratic nomination for Attorney General.

The winner will face current Attorney General Pam Bondi in November.

"Every time an election comes around and I can vote in I vote absolutely," said Leon County voter David O'Keefe. "And I like doing it absentee so I can look up all the candidates information and make a real informed decision," he said.

There's only one contested school board race this year.

The winner of Tuesday's primary between current school board chair and incumbent Forrest Van Camp and challenger Alva Striplin will win that seat.

In the race for 8th district house seat, incumbent Alan Williams is being challenged by Dianne Williams-Cox in the Democratic primary.

There are no Republicans vying for that seat.

But there is a write-in candidate for the November ballot.

A write-in candidate has never won in Leon County, so the winner of tomorrow's primary will likely win the seat.

In House district 9 Incumbent Michelle Rehwinkel Vasilinda is being challenged by Arnita Grice-Walker.

There is no write in candidate in that race, so the winner will take the seat.

"Everyone, no matter what party affiliation you are, no party affiliated, Republican or Democrat may vote in the House District 9 race," Sancho said. "That is what is called a universal open primary. And that is the general election occurring on the primary," he said.

Sancho says primary voting is down across Florida and the country this year.

He expects about a 30 percent turnout in Leon County this primary.

Sancho says voting machines were being tested to make sure they're ready for Tuesday's primary.

Ninety-one Leon County polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to
7 p.m. Tuesday.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus