Wakulla County Teacher of the Year is Announced

By  | 

Wakulla County School District Release

Medart Elementary School teacher Jodie Martin was announced by Wakulla County Superintendent Robert Pearce as the 2013 Wakulla County Teacher of the Year on January 25, 2013. Her fifth grade class of students excitedly clapped and cheered as he presented her with flowers and balloons.

She will now go on to compete with the other District Teachers of the Year for Regional and then State Teacher of the Year. In July, all school districts’ Teachers of the Year will be honored at this Florida Department of Education-Macy’s sponsored program in Orlando.

States Superintendent Pearce, “Mrs. Martin is a great representative of the excellent teachers we have in Wakulla. She truly cares about every aspect of her students from their academics to their physical, emotional, and social well-being.”

Medart Principal Sharon Kemp notes, “Mrs. Martin takes a personal interest in every one of her students. By getting to know each one’s strengths and weaknesses, she both challenges them and helps them in a loving way. She is thoughtful and innovative, making sure she is up on the latest research and then shares it with her colleagues.”

Martin holds a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education, and is certified in ESE (Exceptional Student Education) and ESOL (English Speakers of Other Languages). This is her eighth year of teaching.

Observes Martin, “I have a very simple philosophy of teaching. I teach students, not subjects. We take responsibility for each other’s success with the students working in groups when learning new concepts until they are comfortable enough to work on their own. When the students trust and respect each other, it creates an amazing classroom atmosphere where students no longer have a fear of failure.”

Martin is involved in many aspects of education, including as School Advisory Council Co-Chair, Grade Level Chair, Safety Patrol Chair, and Medart’s SAVE (Substance Abuse and Violence Resistance Education) Coordinator in conjunction with the Wakulla County Sheriff’s Office.

She is also a member of Delta Kappa Gamma, an international women educators’ society, and is on the Medart Reading Leadership Team, the Science Curriculum Committee, and the Math Curriculum Committee.

School Level Teachers of the Year were selected by their peers at their schools, and then went on to apply for the district title. An experienced panel of three educators scored written packets and rated interviews where all candidates had the same questions asked of them.

Eight candidates represented their schools as School Level Teachers of the Year. The other outstanding School Level Teachers of the Year for 2013 are: Miranda Bowen, Crawfordville Elementary; Julia Parker, Riversink Elementary; Kay Reeves, Shadeville Elementary; Charlotte McCormick, Riversprings Middle School; Josh Sandgren, Wakulla Middle School; Shari Evans, Wakulla High School; and Mary Fort, Staffing Specialist representing the district-wide professionals who serve many schools.

These representatives and all Wakulla County teachers will be honored at the Teacher of the Year Breakfast sponsored by Capital City Bank on March 15, 2013 at Riversprings Middle School.

Martin is married to Daryl Martin and they have three sons: Gage, a 2010 Wakulla High School graduate; Gunnar, a 10th grader at WHS; and Lochlan, a Wakulla Middle School 8th grader.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus