Winners Announced for 2011 Distinguished Leadership Awards

By: Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce Release
By: Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce Release

Tallahassee, Fla. – September 16, 2011 -

At last night’s ceremony, Leadership Tallahassee announced the 2011 winners of the Distinguished Leadership Awards, as well as honored the recipients of this year’s Lifetime Leadership Award and the Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce’s Godfrey Smith Past Chairmen’s Award.

The awards ceremony, now in its 17th year, serves as Leadership Tallahassee’s major community fundraiser, with proceeds benefiting the Youth Leadership Tallahassee program. Throughout the ceremony, deserving leaders were honored in each of the following five categories:

Lifetime Leadership Award: Recognizes an individual who has made significant, tangible leadership contributions to the Tallahassee community for more than 25 years. This year’s winner is:

Martha W. Barnett, Holland & Knight; TLO, LLC

Godfrey Smith Past Chairmen’s Award: Honors an individual who has provided significant contributions to the business community before, during, and after their tenure as Chairman of the Greater Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce. The award was named after William Godfrey Smith, the first recipient; an individual who epitomized the ideals of honor, dedication and commitment in our community. This year’s winner is:

James Elliott Messer, Messer, Caparello & Self, PA

Leader of the Year: Awarded to an individual whose ideas, vision and hard work have achieved significant, tangible benefits to the community within the past year. This year’s finalists are:

Cheryl Phoenix, America’s Second Harvest of the Big Bend

Leadership Pacesetter: Given to an individual who is blazing a trail for others to follow by quickly engaging in community leadership activities – and achieving tangible results – as a relative newcomer to Tallahassee or at a relatively young age. This year’s finalists are:

Sha'Ron James, Florida Department of Financial Services

Servant Leadership: This individual has demonstrated consistent community leadership and begun to achieve results beyond a single field of endeavor, combining efforts in business and non-profit organizations. This year’s finalists are:

Jerry Osteryoung, The Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129945778 -
Gray Television, Inc.