SBA Seeks Nominations for 2011 North Florida Small Business Person of the Year & Champion Awards

By: SBA Press Release
By: SBA Press Release

Tallahassee, FL - The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is seeking nominations for the 2011 North Florida Small Business Person of the Year and several Small Business Champion awards.

Each year since 1963, the President of the United States has designated a National Small Business Week. The highlight of Small Business Week activities is the presentation of awards at the state and national levels. National Small Business Week will be observed May 18-20, 2011 in Washington D.C.

“We take pride in SBA’s Small Business Week Awards process every year in North Florida. This is your opportunity to support North Florida’s small business community and to honor the hard work and dedication these entrepreneurs exhibit every day. We hope to receive nominations from small businesses located in Pensacola all the way down to Orlando,” said SBA North Florida District Director Wilfredo J. Gonzalez.

In North Florida, the SBA District Office selects the 2011 North Florida Small Business Person of the Year. The North Florida winner then competes for State Winner recognition. The State of Florida Small Business Person of the Year will be invited to attend the national celebration in Washington, DC to compete for the National Small Business Person of the Year award. At this celebration, a national winner is selected from all the winners from across the country.

Small Business Champions of the Year award categories are for those who promote small business, including volunteering time and services to small business interests and groups. Champions may or may not be small business owners. Award categories include:

Minority Small Business Champion

Veteran Small Business Champion

Financial Services Champion

Home-Based Business Champion

Women in Business Champion

Small Business Exporter of the Year

Jeffrey Butland Award for Family-Owned Small Business of the Year

SBA Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Additional award categories include: Entrepreneurial Success Award; Phoenix Awards (for disaster recovery), Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year, Small Business Subcontractor of the Year, government contracting awards, SBDC Excellence and Innovation Center Award, Women’s Business Center of Excellence Award, and many more. For a more detailed description of the loan categories, please visit Nomination packages must be received at the North Florida District Office in Jacksonville on or before Friday, November 12, 2010.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 104173324 -
Gray Television, Inc.