FEMA Aid to Help Residents in 11 Counties

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

July 4, 2012

Tropical Storm Debby survivors in Florida’s Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Franklin, Hernando, Highlands, Pasco, Pinellas, Suwannee and Wakulla counties can apply now for federal disaster assistance.

Money for temporary housing and essential home repairs not covered by insurance is available. Renters, homeowners and business owners may register for help through the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

If you live in one of the designated counties and sustained losses or damages from Tropical Storm Debby, you can register with FEMA by one of the following methods:
• Call 800-621-FEMA (3362), which is video relay service accessible. Assistance is available in most languages and lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, seven days a week. If you are deaf or hard of hearing and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585.
• Go online to www.DisasterAssistance.gov.
• By smartphone or tablet, use the FEMA app or go to m.fema.gov.

FEMA will ask for the following information:
• The telephone number where you can be reached;
• The address where you lived at the time of the disaster and the address where you are staying;
• Your Social Security number;
• A general description of damage to your property and other losses;
• The name of your insurance company and policy number or agent if you have property insurance; and
• Your bank account routing information if you want FEMA to use direct deposit.

Federal disaster assistance helps eligible applicants with temporary housing, uninsured personal property losses and medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, along with other disaster-related expenses and serious needs.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are also available to help with residential and business losses not covered by insurance. Survivors and businesses may obtain information on SBA disaster loan applications by calling 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for people who are deaf or hard of hearing) or online at www.SBA.gov. They may also apply for disaster loans electronically from SBA’s website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.


Tallahassee, Florida (AP) -- July 3, 2012

President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster area for the state of Florida as a result of the damage caused by Tropical Storm Debby.

The president ordered federal aid to help residents in Baker, Bradford, Columbia, Pasco and Wakulla counties. Assistance includes grants for temporary housing and home repairs and low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses. Other programs will help individuals and business owners recover from the flooding that resulted from the storm.

President Obama called Gov. Rick Scott during last week's Florida Cabinet meeting to offer the federal assistance that he signed off on Tuesday.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said they are reviewing other areas affected by the storm and that more counties could receive disaster declarations.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161278745 - wctv.tv/a?a=161278745
Gray Television, Inc.