FWC Dedicates 20 New Officers to Conservation Efforts

By: FWC Press Release
By: FWC Press Release

Tallahassee, FL - July 15, 2011 --

“Patrol, protect, preserve.”

The motto for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s (FWC) Division of Law Enforcement was on the minds of 20 new officers Friday when they graduated as the FWC’s 16th officer class.

At a ceremony at the Florida Public Safety Institute, near Tallahassee, they pledged their efforts to patrol Florida’s lands and waters and protect and preserve its people and resources.

Col. Jim Brown, director of the FWC’s Division of Law Enforcement, mentioned how FWC officers are the first point of contact most people have with the agency.

“This privilege carries great responsibility,” Brown said. “As they interact with the public, I know these new officers will uphold our values: integrity, professionalism, dedication and adaptability.”

As FWC officers, they will patrol Florida’s lands – nearly 54,000 square miles of it – as well as Florida’s nearly 6,000 square miles of water.

“These officers will be protecting the ‘Fishing Capital of the World’ and one of the largest public hunting systems in the country,” said FWC Chairman Kathy Barco, the guest speaker at the ceremony.

The new officers began their training in January. The beginning part of each FWC academy teaches recruits basic law enforcement information and skills.

“During the final eight weeks of each academy, we focus on the unique information and skills it takes to be an FWC officer,” said Maj. Mark Warren, head of the FWC’s training section.

The specialized training involves firearms proficiency, wildlife identification, vessel operation, defensive tactics, all-terrain vehicle operation, detection for boating and driving under the influence and a focus on state and federal wildlife and fisheries laws.

The graduates will now spend three months with a field-training officer and are assigned as follows:

Rafael Almagro – Miami-Dade

Paul Godward, II – Palm Beach

Casey Anderson – Levy

Matthew Gore – Franklin

Christian Ariza – Broward

Brandon Lewis – Broward

Anna Baker – Brevard

Serdar Mert – Miami-Dade

Caralyn Cain – Duval

Brian Norris – Charlotte

Nick Carman – Broward

George Reynaud – Miami-Dade

Alexander Diaz – Miami-Dade

Stuart Spoede – Lee

Richard Doricchi – Martin

Austin Warne – Broward

Brian Ferguson – Pinellas

Daniel Willman – Brevard

Jordan Fuscaldo – Brevard

Aaron Wise – Hillsborough

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 125660628 - wctv.tv/a?a=125660628
Gray Television, Inc.