Finalists for 2011 Leon Co. Schools Teacher of the Year

By: LCS Release
By: LCS Release

After much consideration and deliberation, our five finalists, are:
Brian Lassiter, Astoria Park Elementary School
Jeannine Meis, Cobb Middle School
Barney Myers, Chiles High School
Erica Sears, Godby High school
Tommy Thompson, Deerlake Middle School

The finalists were selected by a committee comprised of former ToY winners, principals, administrators, and community & business leaders. The committee selected our finalists from 45 applicants from each LCS School site through a blind process where they were not aware of the teacher or school. Finalists will be interviewed on Friday, February 18th. Each interview will be scheduled for up to 25 minutes allowing time for discussion at the end.

The announcement and surprise visit to the winner will be Monday, February 21st, at 10:30 a.m.

2011 District Teacher of the Year Selection Committee
Missy Atkinson, Teacher of the Year, Deerlake Middle School
Erika L. Brenneman, Esq., Goldberg & Dohan, L.L.P.
Joe Burgess, Principal, Swift Creek Middle School
Cheryl Collier-Brown, Leon Classroom Teachers Association representative, Fairview Middle
Sheila Costigan, Foundation for Leon County Schools Director
Beth Overholt, District Advisory Council Vice Chair
Leslie Smith, Envision Credit Union
Forrest Van Camp, School Board Member
Lucy Westfall, retired LCS teacher
Peggy Youngblood, Division Director, Elementary Schools
Amy O’Kelly, Florida Healthy Kids Coalition

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 116228514 -
Gray Television, Inc.