WCTV | Tallahassee, Thomasville, Valdosta | News, Weather, Sports

Florida Communities Come Together To Fight For Clean Water

By: Gulf Restoration Network Email
By: Gulf Restoration Network Email

News Release: Gulf Restoration Network

Who:
Concerned Floridians, all participants in the Floridians’ Clean Water Declaration Campaign ( www.wewantcleanwater.com), from more than 100 different civic, water and environmental organizations and elected city, county and state officials.

When:
Wednesday, January 22, 2014

What:
Florida communities at risk from toxic algae and the unrestrained over-consumption of water resources will join forces to fight for clean water at simultaneous “Commit to Clean Water” events.

Where:
Boynton Beach, Bradenton, Ft. Myers, Gainesville, Jacksonville, Key West, Melbourne, Orlando, Palatka, Naples, Ocala, Stuart, Tallahassee, Tampa, and Vero Beach.

*There will be visuals*

Locations and Contact Info:

Boynton Beach
District Office of Representative Lori Berman (board room)
10 a.m.
2300 High Ridge Road, Boynton Beach, FL 33426-8747
Contact: Sarah de Flesco (Clean Water Action), sdeflesco@cleanwater.org 561-672-7638

Bradenton
Manatee County Administration Building (outside)
11:30 a.m.
1112 Manatee Avenue West, Bradenton, FL 34205
Contact: Cris Costello (Sierra Club), cris.costello@sierraclub.org 941-914-0421

Ft. Myers
District Office of Representative Heather Fitzenhagen
10:30 am
2120 Main Street, Suite 208, Fort Myers, FL 33901
Contact: Ray Judah (Florida Coastal & Oceans Coalition), ray.judah@icloud.com, 239-218-7676

Gainesville
Alachua County Administration Building
9:00 a.m.
12 SE 1st St, Gainesville, FL 32635
Contact: Merrillee Malwitz-Jipson (Our Santa Fe River), merrilleeart@aol.com, 386-454-4247
Cathy Harrelson (Gulf Restoration Network), cathy@healthygulf.org 727-415-8805

Jacksonville
Northbank Riverwalk (end of Jackson Street)
10 a.m.
Parking at 221 Riverside Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32202 (near the Yates YMCA)
Contact: Lisa Rinaman (St. Johns Riverkeeper), lisa@stjohnsriverkeeper.org 904-509-3260

Key West
Reef Relief Environmental Center
11 a.m.
631 Greene Street, Key West, FL
Contact: Mill McCleary (Reef Relief), millmccleary@gmail.com, 305-294-3100

Melbourne
Palm Bay City Hall
10 a.m.
120 Malabar Road, Palm Bay, FL 32907
Contact: Spence Guerin (Brevard Coalition for Indian River Lagoon Call to Action), spenceguerin@earthlink.net 321-917-2468

Naples
Arsenault Gallery
5:30-7:30 p.m. (presentation at 6 p.m.)
Crayton Cove, 764 12th Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
Contact: Eileen Arsenault (Arsenault gallery) dollfin85@comcast.net, 239-263-1214

Ocala
Marion County Administration (lobby)
10 a.m.
601 SE 25th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34471
Contact: Barbara Schwartz (Silver Springs Alliance), vallabha@cox.net 352-216-6238

Orlando
Lake Eola Park (peninsula)
Downtown Orlando
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
195 N Rosalind Avenue, Orlando, FL 32801
Contact: Chuck O’Neal (League of Women Voters of Florida), Lwvocnr@aol.com 407-399-3228

Palatka
Putnam County Board of County Commissioners
Office of Chip Laibl
10:00 a.m.
2509 Crill Avenue, Palatka, FL 32177
Contact: Karen Chadwick, (Putnam County Environmental Council) karenchadwick95@yahoo.com, 386-983-1256

Stuart
Stuart Memorial Park
11 a.m.
300 SE Ocean Boulevard & Georgia Avenue, Stuart, FL 34994
Contact: Marty Baum (Indian Riverkeeper), indianrivguy@yahoo.com, 772-631-5827

Tallahassee
Florida State Capitol Waller Park (Dolphin Park) [Subject to change]
10:30 a.m.
500 Duval Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399
Contact: Ryan Smart (Florida Conservation Coalition), smarts421@gmail.com, 561-358-7191

Tampa
The Straz Center (on Riverwalk behind)
11 a.m.
1010 N. W.C. MacInnes Place, Tampa, Florida 33602
Contacts: Patricia Kemp (Sierra Club), patriciakemp.law@gmail.com, 813-508-0965
Kent Bailey (Sierra Club), kent.bailey@florida.sierraclub.org

Vero Beach
The Willow School
1 pm
950 43rd Ave, Vero Beach, FL 32960
Contact: Kristy Polackwich (The Willow School), Kpolackwich@yahoo.com, 772-538-9304
Missy Tougas (River Kidz) missytougas@gmail.com, 772-216-1583


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 241372681