Tallahassee, Fl-December 30, 2012
Florida is one of 10 states where the minimum wage is going up January first.
Kim Doxey co-owns the Mocking Bird, a popular Tallahassee restaurant and lounge on North Monroe Street. He says he and his staff are bracing for the potential impact of seeing Florida's minimum wage increase January first.
"It's going to have a ripple on effect," says Doxey.
Florida minium wage is increasing to $7.79 an hour, which is a 12 cent raise or roughly an extra $5 a week.
While Doxey says most of his staff are tipped employees rather than paid minimum wage, he says he'll still have to make adjustments such as potentially scaling back employees' hours in order to make up for the increase.
"So it not only impacts that minimum wage which is going to be four dollars and something, but it's also going to affect that they are not getting tips," says Doxey.
As business across the state like Doxey's look to adjust, some consumer see the increase as a good thing, even if it means they may have to pay more.
"If the price has to go up for the customer to get service in an economy that demands more from people to be able to live and survive to make a basic just wage then I think that's the way it works," says Tom Neal.
Of the state's 7.4 million employees, only about 210,000 of them are expected to be impacted by the raise.
In 2013, Washington State will have highest minimum wage at $9.19.
MIAMI -- December 29, 2012
Florida's minimum wage earners are about to get a 12-cents-an-hour boost.
But experts say the increase won't help that many people and adds up to less than $5 a week.
Minimum wage in the Sunshine State will rise to $7.79 on Tuesday. Only about 210,000 out of 7.4 million employed workers Florida workers will benefit.
The increase likely will affect phone sales workers, drivers, housekeepers, toll collectors, security guards and many hourly wage workers in the hotel and restaurant industry.
Younger workers may feel the greatest impact. A University of Central Florida economist says workers under the age of 24 account for roughly half of all minimum-wage earners.
The National Employment Law Project estimates the increase will add $46.2 million to the state's gross domestic product.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.