Scott Names Economic Advisory Teams

By: Michael Peltier, The News Service of Florida Email
By: Michael Peltier, The News Service of Florida Email

Tallahassee, FL - With economic development far atop his list of things to do, Gov-elect Rick Scott on Monday unveiled a voluminous list of business leaders, academics and local elected officials to help him “get to work” by focusing on regulatory reforms and incentives to help attract more than 700,000 jobs to the state over the next seven years.

The two committees that will advise Scott are headed by Miami business mogul Wayne Huizenga and Chris Corr, a vice president with New-York-based management consulting firm AECOM. They’re joined by several private industry leaders, local elected officials and representatives of the state’s largest economic sectors.

Split into a Regulatory Reform Transition Team and the Economic Development Transition Team , 75 members will gather “innovative ideas from the private sector, success stories from other states, (and) cost saving opportunities” as they advise the governor.

The panels include many “outsiders” without much familiarity in government circles.

The list also includes a number of people from Scott’s Southwest Florida home including Tammie Nemecek, president of the Collier County Economic Development Council, Tom Conrecode, vice president of government affairs for Collier Enterprises and Clewiston Mayor Mali Gardner.

UCF president John Hitt and UF president Bernie Machen represent the state’s higher education system on the panels. Among business groups, Scott tapped representatives from the state’s tourism industry, theme parks, sugar, citrus, shipping, transportation and energy sectors.

Think-tank and advocacy group panelists include William Large, a former Jeb Bush staffer who is now the executive director of the conservative leaning Florida Justice Reform Institute, which advocates for and Robert Poole, transportation director for the Reason Foundation.

Scott also tapped some local chamber of commerce leaders as well as the National Federation of Independent Business’ Allen Douglas, the Florida Economic Development Council’s Amy Evancho and Floridians for Better Transportation’s Doug Callaway.

Absent from either group are members of the Florida Chamber of Commerce or the Associated Industries of Florida. State lawmakers were also not included in either panel.

A full list of panelists can be found here:

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111020384 -
Gray Television, Inc.