Booster Seat Age in Georgia

By: Donnitra Gilbert Email
By: Donnitra Gilbert Email

The bill passed the house earlier this week. now the bill is awaiting Governor Nathan Deal's signature.

The current law requires children 6 years or younger to use booster seats.

The new law will keep kids strapped up until age 8. Certain kids will be exempted if they weigh at least 40 pounds or stand 4 feet 9 inches or taller.

Georgia Highway Safety said drivers who fail to keep kids in booster seats can face a 50 dollar fine for the first offense.


You must be logged in to post comments.

Username:
Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by KAB Location: Georgia on Apr 3, 2011 at 08:45 PM
    This is a great start to keeping our kids safer. But exempting because they weigh at least 40 pounds will not help. 40 pounds is not heavy enough to be out of a booster. Now if they are over 4'9 that should be fine. My daughter is around 78 pounds and is about 4'6 and still needs a booster to keep the lap portion of the belt from riding up over her stomache and the neck strap from riding over her throat. It is good that they are making changes but it's flawed in some very important ways.
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 119150974 - wctv.tv/a?a=119150974
Gray Television, Inc.