World Series Champs

By  | 

The last time Chicago White Sox fans had this much reason to celebrate, Woodrow Wilson was president and the year was 1917!

The 88-year championship drought is now over thanks to World Series MVP Jermaine Dye and the rest of the Sox who brought their brooms to Houston and swept the Astros in four games.

Many White Sox fans have been waiting a lifetime for this: Mosin rolling to this championship, the team was almost unbeatable, winning 11 of 12 in the playoffs behind solid pitching and timely hitting.

In many ways this championship washes away the last remnants of dirt that has stuck to the Sox since 1919.

The team has been haunted ever since the so-called "black sox" scandal. That's when eight players including and star shoeless Joe Jackson were charged with taking bribes and throwing the series. Now the focus will be on 2005, victory and bragging rights.

The cross town rival Chicago Cubs haven't won a series since 1908, a fact White Sox fans will likely put to good use at least for a year.