Group Names Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

Story by: James Buechele

Tallahassee, Fla.

Some of Tallahassee and Leon County's finest were honored this evening.

Last year, two Leon County Sheriff's Deputies were in a firefight with a murder suspect. Their K-9 partner Koda was shot and killed.

Now, more than a year later, those two deputies, Ronn McMullen and Tyler Epstein were honored as Committee of 99's law enforcement officers of the year.

"It's a great pleasure and honor," said deputy Epstein.

The organization gives a salute to law enforcement officers both past and present for work done in the field.

"Committee of 99 does so much more throughout the year as far as supporting local law enforcement trying to provide resources and encouragement and guidance when we need it," said TPD chief Michael DeLeo

LCSO Captain Mitch Curtis received the distinguished career service award for his 32 years in law enforcement.

TPD nominated Lt. Roderick Looney for the distinguished career award and officer Nick Lowe for the law enforcement of the year award.

Rosemary Fodor and Terry Yates were the Jack Madigan Award winners for a notable act within the past year by an adult citizen who provided outstanding support for law enforcement in the community.

The Ponce De Leon youth award went to Jose Sanabria, Mason Reeves and Michael Brigance all of the LCSO.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 256641401 -
Gray Television, Inc.