Leon County Schools Five Finalists for 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year

By: Leon County Schools Release Email
By: Leon County Schools Release Email

Leon County Schools Release

Leon County Schools is excited to announce the five finalists for the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year.

The five finalists are:

  1. Lenita Joe, Sealey Elementary—Lenita has been teaching for 45 years, 23 of which have been with LCS and 17 years at Sealey. She is currently the Library Media Specialist.

  2. Chuck Kilbourn, Godby High—Chuck has been a teacher with LCS for 13 years, the last 11 at Godby. He is currently teaching Intro to IT and Digital Design.

  3. Rebecca Kirchharr, Leon High—Rebecca has been a teacher for just shy of 7 years, the previous 2.5 at Leon High. She is an English teacher and Reading Coach.

  4. Jennifer Powell, Deerlake Middle—Jennifer has spent her entire 6 year teaching career with LCS at Deerlake. She teaches 7th grade advanced Civics.

  5. Ron Wetherington, Cobb Middle—Ron has been teaching at Cobb and with LCS for his entire 7 year teaching career. He teaches 7th grade advanced Civics.

The winner of the 12-13 Leon County Teacher of the Year will be surprised at their school on the morning of Friday, February 15th.

The finalists were selected by a committee of teachers, administrators, parents and community representatives from among 42 candidates.

The committee selected the finalists based on their reviews of ‘blind applications’ (no names or schools on them) from each respective LCS school level Teacher of the Year.

The next step for the finalists will be an interview process with the selection committee next week.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 190282401 - wctv.tv/a?a=190282401
Gray Television, Inc.