Local Elementary School Principal Named 'Glenn Howell Educator of the Year' [SLIDE SHOW]

By: Lanetra Bennett
March 7, 2013

Tallahassee, FL - It wasn't his birthday, but, there were balloons, and it truly was a party.

Students, teachers, and staff at Springwood Elementary School in Tallahassee surely knew how to make their principal feel like a winner.

That's exactly what he is. Dr. Christopher Small won Leon County's Glenn-Howell Distinguished Educator of the Year.

The honor acknowledges outstanding minority educators.

Dr. Small became the principal of Springwood last July.

He says, "It means a lot not having been here that long; having to work with learning the staff, learning the students and for them to feel compelled enough to recognize, says a lot. It means a lot."

Before Springwood, he was an assistant principal at Nims Middle School for three years.

Today's announcement and celebration was a complete surprise to him.

Tallahassee, FL - Dr. Christopher Small, Principal at Springwood Elementary School, was announced this morning as the Glenn Howell Distinguished Educator of the Year.

The winner was announced at 9 am, and the entire school came out to cheer on their principal. Students lined the hallways with signs, even making music to congratulate their principal.

The Glenn-Howell Distinguished Minority Educator award was created and is named for two former LCS educators, Devurn Glenn and Aquilina Howell, who made history as the first minority Assistant Superintendent of Personnel and Assistant Superintendent of Instruction respectively. The purpose of the Glenn-Howell Award is to recognize the winners for their minority leadership in education in Leon County Schools, to increase the pool of minority educators by recognizing local success stories, and to inspire and encourage minority educators to become more active in improving the educational status of minority students.

WCTV will bring you more tonight on Eyewitness News.

The five finalists for the Glenn Howell Distinguished Educator Award:

Nicole Green, Teacher – Apalachee Elementary School

Dr. Marsha Glover-Sanders, Principal – Astoria Park Elementary School

Dr. Christopher Small, Principal – Springwood Elementary School

Jesse Forbes, Teacher – Amos P. Godby High School

Jameeka Wallace, Assistant Principal – The Success Academy


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus