Clayton Selected As 2014 Glenn-Howell Distinguished Educator Of The Year [GALLERY]

By: Lanetra Bennett
February 24, 2014

Tallahassee, FL - The 2013-2014 winner of Leon County Schools' Glenn-Howell Educator of the Year is Brandon Clayton.

He was shocked to walk into his school's cafeteria Monday morning to see a room full of cheering students, the district superintendent and school administrators, and his family.

Clayton started at Bond Elementary School a year and a half ago as a third grade math teacher, but, now teachers fourth grade reading. He's been with the district for ten years.

He says, "This was so amazing. I'm just floored and floating on cloud nine right now. I'm not sure how to feel or what to say. I don't know if I want to keep smiling, laugh, cry, or what. This is an extreme honor."

The Glenn-Howell award recognizes educators for their minority leadership in education in Leon County Schools.

By: Lanetra Bennett
February 24, 2014

Brandon Clayton, a 4th grade teacher at Bond Elementary School, has been selected as the 2014 Glenn-Howell Distinguished Educator of the Year.

News Release: Leon County Schools

Leon County Schools is proud to announce the 2014 Glenn-Howell Distinguished Educator of the Year finalists. They are:

  • Brandon Clayton, 4th Grade Teacher – Bond Elementary School

  • Myia Johnson, Mathematics Teacher – Fairview Middle School

  • Tina Austin, Assistant Principal – Springwood Elementary School

  • Myra Harp, 4th Grade Teacher – Roberts Elementary School

  • Cloris Mobley-Hajdukiewicz, Kindergarten Teacher – Sabal Palm Elementary School

Each finalist will be interviewed by the selection committee this week.

We anticipate surprising the winner next Monday or Tuesday at their school.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 245868871 -
Gray Television, Inc.