12 Bulldogs Land Spots On Phil Steele’s All-SEC Teams

By: Georgia Sports Communications
By: Georgia Sports Communications

Athens, GA - The University of Georgia had a dozen players selected to Phil Steele’s 2010 Postseason All‑SEC Teams as the magazine released the four squads Friday.

Junior linebacker Justin Houston was the lone Bulldog to be a first team All-SEC selection. A 6-3, 258-pound native of Statesboro, Houston is a finalist for the Butkus Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. He leads the SEC with 10 sacks and ranks second with 18.5 tackles for a loss. Houston ranks third on the team in tackles with 57.

Georgia junior flanker A.J. Green, senior offensive lineman Clint Boling, senior linebacker Akeem Dent, junior kicker Blair Walsh and junior punter Drew Butler made Phil Steele’s All-SEC second team. Bulldog junior offensive guard Cordy Glenn and redshirt sophomore safety Bacarri Rambo were named to the third team. Georgia senior split end Kris Durham, sophomore tight end Orson Charles, junior center Ben Jones and junior cornerback/kick returner Brandon Boykin made the fourth team.

Phil Steele’s College Football Preview is recognized as one of the nation’s top football magazines that also names Preseason, Midseason and Postseason All-American teams as well as All-Conference teams. A complete list of the Phil Steele All-Conference teams can be found at PhilSteele.com.

Georgia (6-6, 3-5 SEC) will learn its bowl destination and opponent on Sunday. Thanks in part to their latest win over Georgia Tech, the Bulldogs will be making their 14 consecutive bowl appearance. Georgia owns an 11-2 bowl record in this stretch including 7-2 under coach Mark Richt.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111292994 - wctv.tv/a?a=111292994
Gray Television, Inc.