Dreesen, Eddy Named To SEC All-Tournament Team

By: UGA Spors Communications
By: UGA Spors Communications

Orange Beach, AL - Senior Traci Dreesen and sophomore Laura Eddy were named to the 2010 SEC Championships All-Tournament team, according to a league announcement Nov. 7. The team is selected by a committee comprised of SEC officials and coaches of the final four remaining teams.

After the Bulldogs fell behind 1-0 to Auburn in the quarterfinals, Dreesen scored the tying goal in the 67th minute – her first of the season. The Lakewood, Colo., native fired three shots vs. the Tigers and played 106 minutes as Georgia dispatched AU, 2-1, in double overtime to advance to meet Florida in the semifinals.

Eddy, a second-year starter from Atlanta and the 2009 SEC Freshman of the Year, played 96 minutes vs. the Tigers and fired a shot while tallying 84 minutes vs. Florida, anchoring the Bulldog midfield.

Georgia reached the semis for the third time in the last four seasons. The Gators went on to claim the 2010 title with a 1-0 win over South Carolina on Sunday afternoon. UF’s Erika Tymrak captured MVP honors.

The Bulldogs are now awaiting their NCAA Tournament fate as the 64-team field is announced today at 4:30 p.m. and televised on ESPNU.

All-Tournament Team

Jazmyne Avant, Florida

Laura Eddy, Georgia

Traci Dreesen, Georgia

Addie Eggleston, LSU

Kayla Grimsley, South Carolina

Megan Kinneman, LSU

Mollie Patton, South Carolina

Brittany Rhodes, South Carolina

Lindsay Thompson, Florida

*Erika Tymrak, Florida

Kat Williamson, Florida


WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 106922024 - wctv.tv/a?a=106922024
Gray Television, Inc.