FSU's Charles Clark Named To Watch List For Track's Version Of The Heisman Trophy

By: FSU Sports Communications
By: FSU Sports Communications

Tallahassee, FL - The Bowerman Men’s Watch Committee in conjunction with the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) released the names of the 10 student-athletes that are on this year’s Bowerman Watch List and Florida State’s Charles Clark has been recognized.

The Bowerman is track & field’s top award; equivalent to the Heisman Trophy in college football.

“It’s a blessing to receive this type of recognition; especially one like this one with such magnitude,” Clark said. “Last season didn’t go as I had planned it but I can see the maturity of a harvest season this year. I know that there will be ups and downs this year but I have to keep the faith and know that God will see me through to the end.

“I’m excited for the year to get started.”

Clark is back for what is hi his final year in the garnet and gold as the Seminoles’ top outdoor sprinter.

The Virginia Beach, Va. native is an all-around three-time NCAA Champion. He has earned a 2009 outdoor title in the 200-meter dash and two relay national titles (2007 4×100, 2009 outdoor 4×400).

He redshirted the 2010 outdoor season, but added a ninth ACC crown to the case in winning the 2010 league indoor 200-meter crown in a tied collegiate-season best of 20.67.

“We are excited and honored that Charles is being considered for this amazing award,” FSU track coach Bob Braman said. “Charles is truly deserving of this recognition because he is certainly one of the top track and field athletes in the entire country.”

FSU’s indoor season, which Clark will not compete in, begins this weekend at the Virginia Tech Invitational in Blacksburg, Va.

The Bowerman Advisory Board appointed four of its members to comprise The Bowerman Men’s Watch Committee and another four of its members to make up The Bowerman Women’s Watch Committee. The committee will release their next men’s update on Tuesday, February 9. The three men and three women finalists will be named late June.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 113393089 - wctv.tv/a?a=113393089
Gray Television, Inc.