Four Bulldogs Land Southeastern Conference Honors

By: UGA Sports Communications
By: UGA Sports Communications

Athens, GA - Four members of the Georgia soccer team were honored Tuesday by the Southeastern Conference for their play during the 2010 regular season, highlighted by Alexa Newfield’s selection to both the first team All-SEC and All-Freshman teams. SEC awards are voted on by the league’s 12 coaches.

Four selections is tied for the most in a season for the Bulldogs, who also had four players earn SEC recognition in 2007 and 2008. The 2010 season is the sixth in a row in which Georgia had a player on the first team.

Newfield – the only freshman to earn first team honors – is tied for the team lead with 17 points on seven goals and three assists. In the Bulldogs’ final regular season game at Tennessee last Friday, Newfield broke the single-season Georgia record for shots as she added three vs. the Lady Volunteers to sit at 78 on the season, surpassing Mandy Aiken’s record of 76 set in 1998.

Sophomore goalkeeper Ashley Baker and sophomore defender Rebekah Perry snagged second team All-SEC honors, while freshman defender Torri Allen joined Newfield on the All-Freshman squad.

Baker posted 561 minutes of scoreless soccer spanning more than four games earlier this season, good for the longest such streak in SEC play in the Georgia record book. The Lilburn, Ga., native currently ranks first in the SEC in save percentage (.861), tied for first in shutouts (9), and fourth in saves (93). Perry and Allen were a part of a back line that allowed only 15 goals all regular season and seven in SEC play – the fewest the Bulldogs have ever conceded through the conference slate.

This year marked the first career honors for all four players.

Florida led all schools with five selections, followed by Georgia and South Carolina with four apiece. Alabama, Auburn, and LSU had three each, while Kentucky (2), Ole Miss (2), Vanderbilt (2), and Tennessee (1) rounded out the selections.

A full list of the award winners is listed below.

The 2010 SEC Championships begins tomorrow in Orange Beach, Ala. Fourth-seeded Georgia opens play with an 8:30 p.m. ET start vs. the No. 5 seed Auburn.

2010 SEC Women’s Soccer Awards

First Team All-SEC

Justine Bernier GK Jr. Alabama

Katy Frierson M Jr. Auburn

Julie King D Jr. Auburn

Erika Tymrak M/F So. Florida

Ashlee Elliott M Sr. Florida

Kat Williamson D So. Florida

Alexa Newfield M Fr. Georgia

Allysha Chapman D Jr. LSU

Kayla Grimsley M/F Jr. South Carolina

Brittiny Rhoades D Sr. South Carolina

Chelsea Hatcher M/F Jr. Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Victoria Frederick F Sr. Alabama

Kelsey Allison M Sr. Arkansas

Sammy Towne D Sr. Auburn

Tahnai Annis M/F Jr. Florida

Taylor Travis F Fr. Florida

Ashley Baker GK So. Georgia

Rebekah Perry M So. Georgia

Laura Novikoff F Sr. Kentucky

Alix Hildal D So. Ole Miss

Ellen Fahey D Jr. South Carolina

Molly Kinsella F Sr. Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team

Molly Atherton M Alabama

Melanie Foncham D Arkansas

Taylor Travis F Florida

Torri Allen D Georgia

Alexa Newfield M Georgia

Caitlin Landis F Kentucky

Addie Eggleston F LSU

Megan Kinneman GK LSU

Mandy McCalla M Ole Miss

Danielle Au F South Carolina

Claire Romaine D Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year

Becky Burleigh, Florida

Offensive Player of the Year

Kayla Grimsley, South Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year

Kat Williamson, Florida

Freshman of the Year

Taylor Travis, Florida

Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Molly Kinsella, Vanderbilt

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 106562213 -
Gray Television, Inc.