Four Gators Travel to Las Vegas for Women’s Tennis Freeman Memorial

By: UF Sports Communications
By: UF Sports Communications

Las Vegas, NV - Four members of the University of Florida women’s
tennis team will be among players from eight schools competing in Las
Vegas beginning Friday at the ninth annual Freeman Memorial
Championships at the Fertitta Tennis Complex on the UNLV campus.

Alex Cercone (Seminole, Fla.), Lauren Embree (Marco Island, Fla.),
Olivia Janowicz (Palm Bay, Fla.) and Joanna Mather (Duluth, Ga.) will
join the singles and doubles draws featuring other athletes from No. 1
Stanford, No. 5 UCLA, No. 6 North Carolina, No. 19 USC, No. 20 Arizona State as well as the University of Oregon and host UNLV, ranked No. 29.

An impressive field of no less than 15 ranked individuals and six of
the sport’s ranked doubles teams are scheduled to compete, including
UF’s Janowicz, who is ranked No. 22 nationally in singles, Cercone,
who is ranked No. 28 and Mather, ranked No. 30.

Janowicz, who is the No. 2 seed in the 32-player Flight 1 Singles draw,
plays Arizona State’s Sianna Simmons in the first round. Cercone drew
Stanford’s Natalie Dillon on day one, while Mather will face UCLA’s
Maya Johansson in her opening match.

In doubles, Cercone and Janowicz will team and play Stanford’s
Kristie Ahn and Nicole Gibbs, while Embree and Mather face Oregon’s
59th-ranked duo of Particia Skowronski and Pavlina Smatova.

Action begins with doubles each day at 10 a.m. PST on Friday and
Saturday with the finals scheduled for Sunday. Admission to all matches is free. The event features two flights each of both singles and doubles along with consolation rounds.

Doubles Round of 16 10:00 a.m. PT
Singles Round of 32 Follow
Singles Round of 16 Follow
Doubles Quarterfinals 10:00 a.m. PT
Singles Quarterfinals Follow
Singles Semifinals Follow
Doubles Semifinals 10:00 a.m. PT
Doubles Final Follow
Singles Final Follow

2010 Stacey Tan Stanford
2009 Irini Falconi Georgia Tech
2008 Amanda Fink USC
2007 No Champion (Weather)
2006 Celia Durkin Stanford
2005 Shadisha Robinson Georgia
2004 Theresa Logar Stanford
2003* Vilmarie Castellvi Tennessee

2010 Stacey Tan/Mallory Burdette Stanford
2009 Renata Kucerkova/Anastasia Petukhova Fresno State
2008 Jessica Nguyen/Whitney Deason Stanford
2007 No Champion (Weather)
2006 Alice Barnes/Anne Yelsey Stanford
2005 Daniela Bercek/Riza Zalameda UCLA
2004 Boglarka Berecz/Nina Suvak Florida
2003* Vilmarie Castellvi/Melissa Schaub Tennessee
*Freeman Memorial was known as the Collegiate Kickoff Classic in its
first year

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 113484884 -
Gray Television, Inc.