Georgia Off To Strong Start At Bulldog Scramble

By: UGA Sports Communications
By: UGA Sports Communications

Athens, GA - Georgia men’s tennis players won a total of 13 matches on the first day of the Bulldog Scramble Friday at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex.

No. 14 Javier Garrapiz, No. 76 Drake Bernstein, Hernus Pieters, Sadio Doumbia and Ignacio Taboada each won a pair of singles matches and combined to win three doubles matches to lead the Bulldogs. Both of Garrapiz’s wins came against ranked opponents as he defeated No. 66 Brennan Boyajian of North Carolina, 4-6, 6-2, 6-3, and No. 80 Eliot Potvin of Georgia Tech, 6-4, 6-2. Doumbia also recorded a win against a ranked opponent with a 6-3, 6-0 win over Boyajian in the afternoon session.

In doubles, Garrapiz and Pieters downed North Carolina’s Cameron Ahari and Zach Hunter 8-3, Doumbia and Taboada topped Potvin and Magin Ortiga of Georgia Tech 8-3, while Bernstein and Garrett Brasseaux beat Georgia Tech’s Migual Muguruza and Dean O’Brien, 8-4.

“We had a good day today,” said Georgia associate head coach Will Glenn. “Drake played some great indoor matches. It’s good to see him play with a lot of confidence. Javi got a good first match and pulled it out in a three-hour grind. Sadio came and played really well against Boyajian, and he is really coming along. Taboada stepped up and played some great doubles to start the morning. It was great to see Hernus back, and he is playing really well. We are on the right track.”

At the ITA National Indoor Championships in Flushing, N.Y., Georgia junior Wil Spencer defeated Columbia’s Haig Schneiderman, 6-1, 6-7(2), 6-2 in the first round of the consolation draw. Spencer will face Illinois’ Dennis Nevolo in the quarterfinal round on Saturday. Nevolo knocked off the tournament’s No. 1 seed Alex Domijan of Virginia on Friday.

Play continues with day two of the Bulldog Scramble set to begin Saturday at 10 a.m.

Bulldog Scramble Results
Javier Garrapiz/Hernus Pieters (UGA) def. Cameron Ahari/ Zach Hunter (UNC), 8-3
Sadio Doumbia/Ignacio Taboada (UGA) def. Eliot Potvin/Magin Ortiga (GT), 8-3
Drake Bernstein/Garrett Brasseaux (UGA) def. Miguel Muguruza/Dean O’Brien (GT), 8-4
Vincent Verpeaux/Gabe Townes (GSU) def. Will Oliver/Campbell Johnson (UGA), 8-6
Dusan Miljevic/Ryan Smith (GT) def. Victor Valente/Thomas Cook (GSU), 8-5

#14 Javier Garrapiz (UGA) def. #66 Brennan Boyajian (UNC), 4-6, 6-2, 6-3
Hernus Pieters (UGA) def. Cameron Ahari (UNC), 6-4, 6-2
Sadio Doumbia (UGA) def. Dean O’Brien (GT), 6-1, 6-4
Dusan Miljevic (GT) def. Campbell Johnson (UGA), 4-6, 6-3, 6-2
Miguel Muguruza (GT) def. Garrett Brasseaux (UGA), 1-6, 6-4, 7-6(4)
Ignacio Taboada (UGA) def. Thomas Cook (GSU), 7-5, 6-3
#80 Eliot Potvin (GT) def. Victor Valente (GSU), 6-2, 7-5
Magin Ortiga (GT) def. Zach Hunter (UNC), 6-3, 6-1
#76 Drake Bernstein (UGA) def. Vincent Verpeaux (GSU), 6-1, 6-3
Gabe Townes (GSU) def. Will Oliver (UGA), 6-4, 6-2
#14 Javier Garrapiz (UGA) def. #80 Eliot Potvin (GT), 6-4, 6-2
Hernus Pieters (UGA) def. Dusan Miljevic (GT), 6-2, 6-4
Magin Ortiga (GT) def. Campbell Johnson (UGA), 6-4, 6-4
Miguel Muguruza (GT) def. Will Oliver (UGA), 6-4, 2-6, 6-2
Sadio Doumbia (UGA) def. #66 Brennan Boyajian (UNC), 6-3, 6-0
Ignacio Taboada (UGA) def. Cameron Ahari (UNC), 6-1, 6-4
Ryan Smith (GT) def. Gabe Townes (GSU), 6-2, 6-0
Dean O’Brein (GT) def. Vincent Verpeaux (GST), 6-2, 6-3
#76 Drake Bernstein (UGA) def. Victor Valente (GST), 6-2, 6-2
Thomas Cook (GSU) def. Garrett Brasseaux (UGA), 5-7, 7-6(4), 6-3

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 106802848 -
Gray Television, Inc.