Ponder Among Final 15 Contenders for Unitas Golden Arm Award

By: FSU Sports Communications
By: FSU Sports Communications

Tallahassee, FL - Florida State quarterback Christian Ponder remains a contender for the 2010 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the country's top senior quarterback. Ponder, who has directed the 16th-ranked Seminoles to a 6-1 record and their best Atlantic Coast Conference start (4-0) since 2003, was among the quarterbacks who made cut as the selection committee pared its list of candidate to 15.

The award is presented annually by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica. It recognizes the senior quarterback who best combines as host of qualities in honor of the man widely recognized as the greatest quarterback to ever play the game.

"The winner of the Golden Arm Award is recognized not only for his athletic accomplishments, but also for his character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic abilities," says John Unitas, Jr., President of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc.

Ponder ranks among Florida State's all-time leaders in virtually every statistical category. He is the only Football Bowl Subdivision player competing this season who already holds his MBA and has been recognized for his off-field contributions by his selection to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and as a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award.

Through the first seven games of the 2010 season, Ponder has passed for 1,187 yards and 12 touchdowns for the Seminoles, who became the first Atlantic Coast Conference team to secure bowl eligibility with their 24-19 victory over Boston College on Oct. 16.

The list of the 15 remaining candidates for the 2010 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award includes:
• Ben Chappell, Indiana
• Andy Dalton, TCU
• Pat Devlin, University of Delaware
• Ricky Dobbs, Navy
• Nathan Enderle, Idaho
• Jerrod Johnson, Texas A & M
• Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
• Jake Locker, Washington
• Greg McElroy, Alabama
• Christian Ponder, Florida State
• Kevin Riley, California
• Ricky Stanzi, Iowa
• Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech
• Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin
• T.J. Yates, North Carolina

The 2010 winner will be presented with the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award on Friday, December 10 at the Tremont Grand Meeting & Banquet Facility in downtown Baltimore.

For more information, visit www.goldenarmfoundation.com or www.goldenarmaward.com

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 105567393 - wctv.tv/a?a=105567393
Gray Television, Inc.