TCC Places Nine on All-PC Softball Teams

By: TCC Sports Communications
By: TCC Sports Communications

Tallahassee, FL -- April 25, 2012 --

Tallahassee Community College placed nine players on the Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference softball teams, announced by the conference on Tuesday.

Among Tallahassee’s nine all-PC picks are five first-team selections – shortstop Amanda Ake, outfielder Alexis Anderson, catcher Devin Kochergen and pitchers Kristyn Barry and Emily Smethurst.

Pitcher Ally Ledenham and first baseman Dallas Towns were named second-team All-PC while utility player Cherise McEnery and second baseman Megan Oster were named All-PC honorable mention in the vote conducted by the conference’s five head coaches.

Ake, Anderson and Smethurst are repeat first-team selections.

Ake, a sophomore from Carrolton, Ga., has played in 44 games and leads the team with a .428 batting average, 62 hits and 23 stolen bases. Her .683 slugging percentage and .481 on-base percentage are also tops on the team. She shares team-high honors with nine home runs and has driven in 32 runs on the season. She also batted a team-high .440 during Panhandle Conference play.

Anderson, a sophomore from Buford, Ga., has started all 44 games this season and posted a .350 batting average. She has also hit nine home runs and her 35 RBI is good for second on the team. She is also a perfect 13-for-13 in stolen bases.

Smethurst, a sophomore from Brighton East, VIC Australia, has posted a 10-3 record and 1.24 ERA in 17 games. She has recorded 11 complete games and two shutouts while holding opponents to a .188 batting average.

Kochergen, a sophomore from Madera, Calif, has appeared in 39 games, primarily as the team’s starting catcher. She has a .333 batting average with four home runs and 18 RBI. Her .480 on-base percentage is second only to Ake.

Barry, a freshman from Adelaide, SA Australia, has enjoyed a stellar rookie season, leading the Tallahassee pitching staff in wins (14), ERA (1.15), complete games (15), shutouts (5), innings pitched (127.1), strikeouts (160), opponents’ batting average (.171) and appearances (24). She is 14-6 overall.

Ledenham, a sophomore from Lithia, Fla., has posted a 9-2 record with a 1.43 ERA in 16 games. She was even better in PC play, leading the Eagles’ staff with a 0.88 ERA while posting a 3-1 record and holding opponents to a .158 batting average.

Towns, a sophomore from Dunnellon, Fla., has appeared in 43 games and leads the team in RBI – both overall (37) and in league play (15). She also shares team-high honors with nine home runs – including a team-best five in PC action – and has batted .328.

McEnery, a freshman from Cloverdale, Calif., has played in 38 games, seeing action at both corner infield positions while also filling the role of DP. She joins Ake, Anderson and Towns with nine home runs and has batted .300 with 26 RBI.

Oster, a sophomore from Clermont, Fla., has started all 44 games as the Eagles’ everyday second baseman. She has posted a .318 batting average with three home runs and 18 RBI.

Tallahassee will carry a 33-11 record, No. 2 FCSAA ranking, No. 5 NJCAA ranking and the Panhandle Conference’s No. 2 seed into this weekend’s FCSAA Gulf District//NJCAA Region 8B Softball Tournament in Pensacola, Fla., The Eagles will open play at 3 p.m. eastern, Friday, April 27 against Suncoast Conference No. 3 seed Polk State College.

Days two and three of the tournament will be carried online by Panhandle Sports Broadcasting at

2012 Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference Softball Teams


Infielders: Amanda Ake, Tallahassee; Shelby Knox, Northwest Florida State; Hayley Parker, Chipola; Hilari Hopkins, Gulf Coast State; Sayumi Akamine, Chipola.

Outfielders: Ebony Wright, Chipola; Gwen Jones, Northwest Florida State; Alexis Anderson, Tallahassee; Hilary Chapman, Gulf Coast State.

Catchers: Devin Kochergen, Tallahassee; Stephanie Garrels, Chipola.

At-Large: C.J. Browder, Northwest Florida State; Lindsey Hamlin, Chipola.

Pitchers: Eva Voortman, Chipola; Kristyn Barry, Tallahassee; Emily Smethurst, Tallahassee; Ollivia McLemore, Gulf Coast State; Lindsey Hamlin, Chipola.

Player of the Year: Ebony Wright, Chipola

Pitcher of the Year: Eva Voortman, Chipola

Coach of the Year: Belinda Hendrix, Chipola


Infielders: Ashlyn Masters, Northwest Florida State; Dallas Towns, Tallahassee; Freymar Suniaga, Pensacola State; Chelsey Steedley, Chipola; Kelly Hayes, Pensacola State.

Outfielders: Mya Anderson, Chipola; Elizabeth Kelligan, Northwest Florida State; Chandler Seay, Chipola; Kristen Allen, Chipola.

Catchers: Amanda Grimaldo, Gulf Coast State; Amanda VanVraken, Northwest Florida State.

Pitchers: Sarah Steiner, Gulf Coast State; Michelle Phelps, Northwest Florida State; Eidy Tortolero, Pensacola State; Ally Ledenham, Tallahassee.

Honorable Mention

Infielders: Cherise McEnery, Tallahassee; Jasmine Tankersley, Chipola; Megan Oster, Tallahassee; Taylor Nicolosi, Gulf Coast State; Kat Vogler, Gulf Coast State.

Outfielders: London Germ, Northwest Florida State; Shawna Montgomery, Pensacola State.

Catchers: Mykah Nevin, Pensacola State.

Pitcher: Jennifer Bazzel, Pensacola State; Michele Hester, Chipola; Eron Milton, Chipola; Ashley Balentine, Pensacola State.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 148950215 -
Gray Television, Inc.