Three Bulldogs Earn All-SEC Honors

By: UGA Sports Communications
By: UGA Sports Communications

Birmingham, AL -- Three members of the University of Georgia softball team earned Southeastern Conference awards on Wednesday as announced by the league office.

Senior Kristyn Sandberg was named to the All-SEC First Team, senior Erin Arevalo was named to the All-SEC Second Team and freshman Paige Wilson was named to the All-SEC Freshman Team.

Sandberg, a catcher from Island Park, N.Y., was named to the All-SEC First Team for the first time in her career after being named to the Freshman Team in 2009. This season, Sandberg leads the team in batting average (.360), home runs (17), RBI (45), slugging percentage (.832), walks (41), hit by pitches (13) and on-base percentage (.547). The senior has consistently ranked at the top of the SEC statistically, as her home runs, slugging percentage and on-base percentage are currently ranked first. Earlier this week Sandberg was selected to the SEC Community Service Team. She was also selected with the No. 5 overall pick of the National Pro Fastpitch draft by the USSSA Pride in March.

Arevalo, a pitcher from Lathrop, Calif., was named to the All-SEC Second Team for the first time in her four-year career with Georgia. Arevalo leads the Bulldog pitching staff this season in many categories, including wins (22), complete games (22), innings pitched (195.1) and strikeouts (234). After posting a career-high 15 strikeouts at LSU this season, Arevalo became the fourth Bulldog pitcher all-time to eclipse the 200-strikeout mark in a season. With her 2012 season total, the senior now has 470 strikeouts in her career, which ranks fourth in Georgia history.

Wilson, an infielder from Chicago, becomes the eighth Bulldog since 2004 to be named to the All-SEC Freshman Team. This season, Wilson has earned SEC Freshman of the Week four times, as she currently holds the distinction for her performance against Arkansas last weekend. Wilson currently ranks second on the team in batting average (.327), hits (53), doubles (9), home runs (9) and RBI (43).

A complete listing of the 2012 SEC Softball postseason awards follows:

Player of the Year
Michelle Moultrie, Florida

Pitcher of the Year
Jackie Traina, Alabama

Coach of the Year
Pat Murphy, Alabama

Freshman of the Year
Devon Wallace, Arkansas

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Jennifer Fenton, Alabama; Brittany Mack, LSU

First Team All-SEC
P - Jackie Traina, Alabama
P - Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee
IF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
IF - Brittany Cervantes, Kentucky
IF - Kaila Hunt, Alabama
IF - Madison Shipman, Tennessee
OF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida
OF - Jennifer Fenton, Alabama
OF - Lauren Lackey, South Carolina
OF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee
C - Kristyn Sandberg, Georgia
DP/U - Devon Wallace, Arkansas

Second Team All-SEC
P - Rachele Fico, LSU
P - Hannah Rogers, Florida; Erin Arevalo, Georgia
IF - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
IF - Lauren Guzman, Auburn
IF - Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama
IF - Kara Dill, Kentucky
OF - Jaz Lunceford, Alabama
OF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
OF - RT Cantillo, Ole Miss
OF - Melissa Davin, Tennessee
C - Kendall Dawson, Alabama; Kelsey Horton, Florida
DP/U - Amanda Locke, Alabama

Freshman All-SEC
P - Kimmy Beasley, Arkansas
P - Alyssa Bache, Florida
IF - Lauren Haeger, Florida
IF - Paige Wilson, Georgia
IF - Sami Fagan, Florida
IF - Allison Brown, Ole Miss
OF - A.J. Andrews, LSU
OF - Jessica Damico, Florida
OF - Branndi Melero, Auburn
OF - Ashley Phillips, Mississippi State
C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky
DP/U - Devon Wallace, Arkansas

SEC All-Defensive
P - Hannah Rogers, Florida
C - Kendall Dawson, Alabama
1B - Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama
2B - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
SS - Madison Shipman, Tennessee
3B - Brittany Cervantes, Kentucky
LF - Ashley Langoni, LSU
CF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida
RF - Jaz Lunceford, Alabama

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 150837245 -
Gray Television, Inc.