Three Jackets Win on First Day of USTA/ITASE Regional

By: Georgia Tech Communications
By: Georgia Tech Communications

Gainesville, FL - Dusan Miljevic, Miguel Muguruza and Ryan Smith all won their first-round matches in straight sets Thursday at the USTA/ITA Southeast Regional tennis event on the campus of the University of Florida.

They advance to the round of 64 Friday along with teammates Guillermo Gomez, Eliot Potvin, Dean O’Brien, Kevin King, Juan Spir and Magin Ortiga, who had byes on Thursday.

Muguruza defeated Jacksonville’s Matthew Hansen, 6-2, 6-2, while Miljevic dispatched the Dolphins’ Andrew Lerner, 6-0, 6-3, and Smith turned back Temeura Asafu Adjaye of Florida A&M, 6-3, 6-2.

Doubles competition also will commence Friday, and the Yellow Jackets have four teams entered, including 43rd ranked King and Spir, and 60th ranked Potvin and Smith.

The singles and doubles champions from each of the 12 the NCAA Division I USTA/ITA Regional Championships will advance to the 2010 USTA/ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, taking place November 4-7, at the new indoor facilities at the USTA-Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, located in Flushing, N.Y. Columbia University will serve as the tournament host.


University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla.


Round of 128 Singles

Miguel Muguruza d. Matthew Hansen, Jacksonville, 6-2, 6-2

Dusan Miljevic d. Andrew Lerner, Jacksonville, 6-0, 6-3

Ryan Smith d. Temeura Asafu Adjaye, Florida A&M, 6-3, 6-2


Round of 64 Singles

Guillermo Gomez vs. Billy Federhofer, Florida, 12:30 p.m.

Magin Ortiga vs. Didrik Berg, Stetson, 9 a.m.

Juan Spir vs. Levarn Clark, Florida A&M, 9 a.m.

Miguel Muguruza vs. Federico Sabogal, South Florida, 9 a.m.

Kevin King vs. Michael Alford, Florida, 11 a.m.

Dean O’Brien vs. Connor Smith, Florida State, 10:30 a.m.

Eliot Potvin vs. Fernando Banos Lopez, Jacksonville, 12 noon

Dusan Miljevic vs. Santiago Nieto, Miami, 12 noon

Ryan Smith vs. Will Oliver, Georgia, 12:30 p.m.

Round of 32 Doubles

Eliot Potvin/Ryan Smith vs. Didrik Berg/Cesare Gallo, Stetson (both teams have byes in round of 64)

Guillermo Gomez/Dean O’Brien vs. Sekou Bangoura/van Overbeek, Florida (both teams have byes in round of 64)

Kevin King/Juan Spir vs. Michael Alford/Andrew Butz, Florida (both teams have byes in round of 64)

Dusan Miljevic/Magin Ortiga (bye in round of 64) vs. round of 64 winner

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 105484073 -
Gray Television, Inc.