Valentina Gonzalez Named To All-SEC Second Team

By: UGA Sports Communications
By: UGA Sports Communications

Birmingham, AL - University of Georgia volleyball senior middle hitter Valentina Gonzalez was named to the All-Southeastern Conference Second Team according to an announcement made by the league on Monday.

Gonzalez, a native of Monterrey, Mexico, was named to the All-SEC Second Team for the second-straight year after she finished league play in 2010 having recorded 218 kills on a .383 hitting percentage, which ranked fourth in the league. She also notched 85 blocks in conference action at 1.08 per set, which also ranked fourth in the league. On November 22, Gonzalez was tabbed the SEC Defensive Player of the Week marking the first time a Bulldog had received the honor since 2006. She earned the honor after helping Georgia go 2-0 in a pair of SEC road contests by providing a team-best 13 blocks.

Overall, Gonzalez provided the Bulldogs with team-bests of 334 kills and 128 blocks this season, and she concluded her four-year Georgia career entrenched in the Georgia record books most notably as the school record holder for career blocks assists with 424. Additionally, she finished the 2010 season with a .395 hitting percentage, second-best for a single year, and her career hitting percentage of .335 ranks second in school history as well. Gonzalez's career block total of 453 ranks fourth all-time at UGA and ninth in the SEC in the rally scoring era (since 2001).

2010 SEC Volleyball Awards:

Player of the Year: Kelly Murphy, Florida

Libero of the Year: Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year: Desiree Elliott, LSU

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Lauren Rapp, Kentucky; Nikki Fowler, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: Mary Wise, Florida

First Team All-SEC:

Lauren Bledsoe, Florida

Kelly Murphy, Florida

Callie Rivers, Florida

Lauren Rapp, Kentucky

Angela Bensend, LSU

Desiree Elliott, LSU

Regina Thomas, Ole Miss

Nikki Fowler, Tennessee

Kayla Jeter, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Kayla Fitterer, Alabama

Jasmine Norton, Arkansas

Morgan Johns, Auburn

Cassandra Anderson, Florida

Kristy Jaeckel, Florida

Valentina Gonzalez, Georgia

Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky

Michele Williams, LSU

Ashley Newsome, Mississippi State

Leah Hinkey, Tennessee

SEC All-Freshman Team:

Raymariely Santos, Arkansas

Camila Jersonsky, Auburn

Chanel Brown, Florida

Whitney Billings, Kentucky

Desiree Elliott, LSU

Juliette Thevenin, South Carolina

Kelsey Robinson, Tennessee

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111005564 -
Gray Television, Inc.