FSU Softball Headed to South Alabama Regional

By: FSU Sports Information Email
By: FSU Sports Information Email

Tallahassee, FL - The Florida State softball team has been selected to its 14th consecutive NCAA Regional as it heads to Mobile, Ala. to compete in No. 13 seeded South Alabama’s regional beginning Friday, May 17.

The Seminoles (41-16), which finished as the ACC champions in the regular season, open with Southeastern Conference opponent Mississippi State on Friday at 4:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. CT at Jaguar Field on ESPN3. Rounding out the South Alabama regional is Mississippi Valley State, who will face the host Jaguars (45-7) on Friday evening at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT.

The South Alabama regional is one of seven NCAA Regionals being aired on one of ESPN’s television platforms.

Florida State’s 14th straight NCAA Regional appearance puts it in a class of just 11 teams that have made the postseason in every year since 2000. Those teams include California, Arizona, Washington, Oklahoma, Michigan, Stanford, UCLA, Louisiana Lafayette, Notre Dame and Alabama.

The Seminoles will also make their 26th NCAA Regional appearance, which is fifth all-time in collegiate softball. The South Alabama regional is matched up with fourth-seeded Texas’ Regional, which includes Houston, South Carolina and Army.

Florida State and Mississippi State have faced once in NCAA postseason play, with the Seminoles coming away with a 5-0 victory the last time they hosted a regional in 2009. The Bulldogs lead the all-time series 7-6, including winning both games by one run apiece in 2011.

Check back with Seminoles.com during the week as well as the FSU softball Facebook and Twitter pages for more information on the upcoming NCAA Regional at South Alabama.


WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 207145361 - wctv.tv/a?a=207145361