FSU Men's Cross Country Named Division I Scholar Team of the Year

By: FSU Sports Communications
By: FSU Sports Communications

Tallahassee, FL - The Florida State men’s cross country team has been named the Division I Scholar Team of the Year, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Thursday.

FSU standout student-athletes Ciaran O’Lionaird and Mike Fout also earned individual All-Academic honors from the USTFCCA as well as Hannah Brooks, Jennifer Dunn, Jessica Parry and Amanda Winslow on the women's side.

The women’s team also finished second to Villanova for Scholar Team of the Year.

The 2010 cross country season was certainly one to remember for the Florida State men and Thursday’s announcement adds to what is considered the greatest year in program history.

Not only did head coach Bob Braman’s team capture an Atlantic Coast Conference Championship but the 'Noles also went on to finish as the National Runner-up at the Division I Cross Country Championships. Braman earned league coach of the year honors and O’Lionaird was named the NCAA South Region’s Male Athlete of the Year.

Academically, FSU’s men’s team earned a cumulative 3.11 GPA to garner the Scholar Team of the Year award.

"This is an awesome honor,” Braman said. “To be named the top scholar-athlete program in the country is just huge. This goes down as one of my career coaching highlights.

"I am so proud of our student-athletes.”

Scholar Teams of the Year are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest as a team at the most recent NCAA Championships.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 116424969 - wctv.tv/a?a=116424969
Gray Television, Inc.