Seminoles Celebrate Football Success At Annual Banquet

By: FSU Sports Information
By: FSU Sports Information

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State football coach Jimbo Fisher put the final touches on the 2010 season Sunday night at the University Center, recognizing the most outstanding Seminoles during the annual awards banquet.

Unanimous All-American senior guard Rodney Hudson and sophomore defensive end Brandon Jenkins claimed the evening’s top honors as the Most Valuable Players on offense and defense, respectively. Sophomore kicker Dustin Hopkins and junior punter Shawn Powell were selected as the Most Valuable Players on special teams.

Among the many awards presented during the two-hour program, Fisher announced the permanent captains for 2010 were seniors Christian Ponder, Hudson, Kendall Smith, Mark White and Ochuko Jenije.

Fisher capped the evening by recognizing the senior class, which played a significant role in delivering the Seminoles their first 10-win season since 2003, their first sweep of Miami and Florida since 1999, an ACC Atlantic Division title and a Chick-fil-A Bowl victory over South Carolina.

In his closing comments, Fisher commended the seniors for setting the standard that the future players should aspire and issuing a challenge.

“The future begins now,” Fisher said, adding that the work that will be done between today and August will determine the level of success the Seminoles can have in 2011.

Master of ceremonies Tom Block finished the night by noting that the spring game was just three months away and the 2011 season opener, only 229 days out.

The 2010 Florida State football award winner recognized in the banquet were:

Bob Crenshaw Award

Andrew Datko

Don Powell Award

Ryan McMahon

Bill McGrotha Award

Christian Ponder

DeVaughn Darling Award

Christian Jones

Defensive Warrior

Kendall Smith

Offensive Warrior

Lonnie Pryor

Top Conditioned Athlete

Chris Thompson

Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year

Daniel Monroe and Jonathan Wallace

Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year

Neil Goldsmith and Holmes Onwukaife

Special Teams Newcomers of the Year

Telvin Smith and Lamarcus Joyner

Special Teams Most Valuable Players

Dustin Hopkins and Shawn Powell

Top Newcomer - Offense

Bryan Stork

Top Newcomer – Defense

Xavier Rhodes and Mike Harris

Most Improved Player - Offense

Chris Thompson

Most Improved Player - Defense

Kendall Smith and Anthony McCloud

Attitude Award - Offense

E.J Manuel

Attitude Award - Defense

Ochuko Jenije

Leadership Award - Offense

Christian Ponder

Leadership Award - Defense

Markus White

Skill Blocker Award

Taiwan Easterling and Lonnie Pryor

Mr. Versatile

Greg Reid

Most Valuable Player - Offense

Rodney Hudson

Most Valuable Player - Defense

Brandon Jenkins

2010 Permanent Captains

Christian Ponder

Rodney Hudson

Kendall Smith

Markus White

Ochuko Jenije

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 113855434 -
Gray Television, Inc.