Seminoles Eliminate Nationally-Seeded UCLA

By: FSU Sports Communications
By: FSU Sports Communications

Los Angeles, CA -- Behind another tremendous performance from pitcher Monica Perry, the Florida State University softball team kept its season alive by defeating No. 12 national seed UCLA, 2-1, on Saturday evening at Easton Stadium.

The Seminoles (47-15) will now face San Diego State in an NCAA Regional elimination game beginning at 9:50 p.m. ET/6:50 p.m. PT this evening. The winner of tonight's game will have to defeat Hofstra twice on Sunday afternoon with the first pitch beginning at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT.

Perry (22-6) delivered a complete-game performance and let up just one run and six hits with six strikeouts. The biggest hit of the game for FSU came on Briana Hamilton's solo home run in the second inning, her 12th of the season, to give FSU a 2-0 advantage.

Head coach Lonni Alameda now owns 14 Top 25 victories since coming to FSU in 2009, as UCLA is ranked 14th in the latest ESPN.com/USA Softball Poll.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 152175405 - wctv.tv/a?a=152175405
Gray Television, Inc.