Heisman Candidates Become Official

NEW YORK (AP) _ Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, trying to become
the first sophomore to win the Heisman Trophy, and Arkansas running
back Darren McFadden were among the four finalists selected Wednesday.
Missouri quarterback Chase Daniel and Hawaii quarterback Colt
Brennan were the other finalists. They will all be in New York on
Saturday night when the award is given to the top player in college
The Heisman race took a while to develop this season and seemed
wide open until the last month when Tebow, McFadden and Daniel
emerged as front-runners.
Since the first Heisman was given to Chicago's Jay Berwanger in
1935, all 70 players who have won college football's most
prestigious award have been juniors or seniors.
Tebow could break that trend. The ultimate dual-threat
quarterback at about 235 pounds, Tebow ran for 838 yards rushing
and an Southeastern Conference-record 22 touchdowns.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus