Tim Tebow Takes Home the Heisman

NEW YORK (AP) _ University of Florida sophomore quarterback Tim Tebow has won the Heisman Trophy.

Tebow is the first sophomore to win the Heisman Trophy.

The Florida quarterback accounted for 51 touchdowns, including 22 rushing this season.

Tebow threw for 29 TDs and ran for a Southeastern Conference record 22 scores for the Gators. He passed for 3,132 yards and only six interceptions while rushing for an additional 838 yards.

Tebow says he thinks of the Heisman as a "team award,'' and thanked his Gator teammates and coaches profusely after winning the award.

The six-foot-three, 235-pound Tebow is the third Gator QB to win the Heisman.

He joined fellow Florida signal-callers Danny Wuerffe and Steve Spurrier.

Tebow beat out Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, Hawaii QB Colt Brennan and Missouri QB Chase Daniel in winning college football's most prestigious award.

McFadden has been a Heisman finalist the past two seasons.

The junior finished second with 1,703 points to Tebow's 1,957.

Hawaii QB Colt Brennan was third with Missouri QB Chase Daniel fourth.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus