Leon High Wins National Championship

Leon Crew’s men’s junior eight boat won the national championship today, while the men’s lightweight four took the bronze medal and Maclay men’s senior doubles boat earned the silver medal. Leon Crew’s women finished fourth in the junior eight event.
Marking the second time Leon Crew has won a national gold medal in its 15-year history, the win bodes well for the program.
“These young rowers, all juniors and sophomores, will be extremely competitive next year,” said Leon Crew men’s varsity coach Dan Newman. “They improved their time in every race they rowed at this championship, beating the fastest boats in the country.”
Winning the gold on the men’s junior eight were Leon Crew rowers James Crowley, John Sweat, Josh McLawhorn, Kenny Nickens, Seamus Bruner, Matt Smith, Kirkland O’Steen, Nathan Rillstone and coxswain Carolyn Crabtree.
Earning a silver in the men’s doubles event were Maclay rowers Matt Lundberg and Holden Dickeson. Taking home the bronze medal in the men’s lightweight eight were Leon Crew rowers Matt MacNamara, Zach Mincy, Danny Gwynn-Shapiro, Tim Merlau and coxswain Alicia Hines. Finishing fourth in finals in the women’s lightweight eight event were Leon Crew rowers Caroline Cooper, Allie Wetteland, Haley Langston, Jennifer Trowers, Dixie Folsom, Melissa Campbell, Brittany Truman, Jennifer Goldsby and coxswain Christie Goldsby.
The Scholastic Rowing Association of America national championship event, which determines the top high school crews in the country, draws hundreds of boats from around the nation.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus