The Sunshine State Takes Div. 2 Baseball Championship

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) _ Jonathan Holt gave up just six hits in a
complete game to lead the University of Tampa to a second straight
N-C-A-A Division Two baseball championship with a 7-to-2 victory
over Columbus State at Riverwalk Stadium in Montgomery, Alabama,
Holt was named Most Valuable Player in the tournament as the
Spartans (53-10) become only the sixth team to earn back-to-back
titles in tournament history and the first since Tampa turned the
trick in 1992-93.
Catcher Chris Rosenbaum had three hits, including two doubles,
and drove in two runs.
Columbus State (51-19) took an early 1-to-0 lead after Jonnie
Geiger singled, stole second and reached third on an error. He
later scored on a groundout by Kurt McKee.
Tampa took the lead for good with two runs in the fourth inning,
including a run-scoring double by Rosenbaum. The Spartans added
single runs in the sixth and eighth innings on a passed ball and
another Rosenbaum double.
Troy Ferguson and Junior Mejia each homered in the ninth to add
to the final margin.
After getting key hits in their three previous victories in the
tournament, the Cougars were unable to put together much offense.
They managed just seven base runners and left five on base.
Anthony Arrington started for Columbus State and pitched into
the eighth inning. He gave up three earned runs on seven hits. He
struck out three and walked three in losing for the second time
this year (8-2).

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus