Georgia’s Jarvis Jones Named An AP All-American

By  | 

ATHENS, Ga. --- University of Georgia junior outside linebacker Jarvis Jones has been named to the Associated Press All-America First Team for the second consecutive season, according to an announcement Tuesday.

Jones has already been named a Walter Camp, an AFCA and a Sporting News All-American this season.

A 6-3, 241-pound native of Columbus, Ga., Jones has 77 tackles, 22.5 tackles for a loss, 12.5 sacks, seven forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and an interception in 11 games this season. Currently, Jones leads the NCAA in forced fumbles per game and tackles for loss per game. He was named the AP Southeastern Conference Defensive Player of the Year last week and was a unanimous selection to the All-SEC first team. In addition, Jones was named to the All-SEC Coaches first team.

This marks the second straight year Jones has been named to the AP All-America First Team. Jones is only the fourth Georgia player to garner this honor at least twice in his career. There have been eight first team selections for UGA since Mark Richt was named head coach in 2001 and 30 since the Bulldogs’ first in 1927.

Jones was also selected as a finalist for the Bednarik, Nagurski, Butkus and Lombardi awards along with the Lott IMPACT Trophy. He was named the Walter Camp National Player of the Week twice this season after his performances at Missouri and against #3 Florida.

Fifth-ranked Georgia will face No. 23 Nebraska in the 2013 Capital One Bowl in Orlando on Jan. 1 at 1 p.m. ET.

Quarterback — Johnny Manziel, redshirt freshman, Texas A&M
Running backs — Montee Ball, senior, Wisconsin; Ka'Deem Carey, sophomore, Arizona
Tackles — Luke Joeckel, junior, Texas A&M; Taylor Lewan, junior, Michigan
Guards — Chance Warmack, senior, Alabama; Jonathan Cooper, senior, North Carolina
Center — Barrett Jones, senior, Alabama
Tight end — Zach Ertz, senior, Stanford
Receivers — Marqise Lee, sophomore, Southern California; Terrance Williams, senior, Baylor
All-purpose player — Tavon Austin, senior, West Virginia
Kicker — Cairo Santos, junior, Tulane

Ends — Jadeveon Clowney, sophomore, South Carolina; Bjoern Werner, junior, Florida State
Tackles — Star Lotulelei, senior, Utah; Will Sutton, junior, Arizona State
Linebackers — Manti Te'o, senior, Notre Dame; Jarvis Jones, junior, Georgia; C.J. Mosley, junior, Alabama
Cornerbacks — Dee Milliner, junior, Alabama; Jordan Poyer, sophomore, Oregon State
Safeties — Phillip Thomas, senior, Fresno State; Matt Elam, junior, Florida
Punter — Ryan Allen, senior, Louisiana Tech

Quarterback — Collin Klein, senior, Kansas State
Running backs — Kenjon Barner, senior, Oregon; Johnathan Franklin, senior, UCLA
Tackles — D.J. Fluker, junior, Alabama; David Yankey, junior, Stanford
Guards — Spencer Long, junior, Nebraska; Cyril Richardson, junior, Baylor
Center — Dalton Freeman, senior, Clemson
Tight end — Tyler Eifert, senior, Notre Dame
Receivers — Stedman Bailey, junior, West Virginia; Quinton Patton, senior, Louisiana Tech
All-purpose player — Jordan Lynch, junior, Northern Illinois
Kicker — Dustin Hopkins, senior, Florida State

Ends — Damontre Moore, junior, Texas A&M; Stephon Tuitt, sophomore, Notre Dame
Tackles — Johnathan Hankins, junior, Ohio State; Kawann Short, senior, Purdue
Linebackers — Kevin Minter, junior, LSU; Anthony Barr, junior, UCLA; Arthur Brown, senior, Kansas State
Cornerbacks — Johnthan Banks, senior, Mississippi State; Bradley Roby, sophomore, Ohio State
Safeties — Eric Reid, junior, LSU; Tony Jefferson, junior, Oklahoma
Punter — Riley Stephenson, senior, BYU

Quarterback — A.J. McCarron, junior, Alabama
Running backs — Stefphon Jefferson, junior, Nevada; Giovani Bernard, sophomore, North Carolina
Tackles — Jake Matthews, junior, Texas A&M; Eric Fisher, senior, Central Michigan
Guards — Larry Warford, senior, Kentucky; Xavier Su'a-Filo, sophomore, UCLA
Center — Braxton Cave, senior, Notre Dame
Tight end — Austin Seferian-Jenkins, sophomore, Washington
Receivers — DeAndre Hopkins, junior, Clemson; Cobi Hamilton, senior, Arkansas
All-purpose player — Dri Archer, junior, Kent State
Kicker — Caleb Sturgis, senior, Florida

Ends — John Simon, senior, Ohio State; Sam Montgomery, junior, LSU
Tackles — Sharrif Floyd, junior, Florida; Chris Jones, senior, Bowling Green
Linebackers — Khaseem Greene, senior, Rutgers; Trent Murphy, senior, Stanford; Kyle Van Noy, junior, BYU
Cornerbacks — Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, sophomore, Oregon; Jason Verrett, junior, TCU
Safeties — Ed Reynolds, junior, Stanford; Ty Zimmerman, junior, Kansas State
Punter — Kyle Christy, sophomore, Florida

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus