PC Media Name All-conference Basketball Teams

Tallahassee, FL - The Panhandle Conference media released its 2011 all-conference basketball teams on Wednesday. Twelve members of the conference’s media selected first- and second-team all-conference squads, as well as an all-freshman team, Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year for both men and women.

Northwest Florida State College’s Carl Hall was named Player of the Year on the men’s side while Pensacola State College’s Meghan Perkins was voted the PC’s top female player. Both Hall and Perkins were previously named PC Players of the Year by league coaches.

Pensacola State’s Darren Goodsen and Chipola College’s Jasmine Shaw were named men’s and women’s Freshman of the Year, respectively.

Pensacola State added a third individual honor as Chanda Rigby was named PC women’s Coach of the Year. Tallahassee Community College’s Eddie Barnes was recognized as the men’s Coach of the Year.

Rigby has Pensacola State headed into the postseason with a 29-0 record and No. 1 ranking by both the FCCAA and NJCAA. Barnes, meanwhile, has Tallahassee back in the FCCAA Tournament for a second straight year, despite having only one returning player from last year’s squad that finished as FCCAA Runners-up.

In the men’s voting, Hall was an overwhelming pick for top men’s honors. The Cochran, Ga., native and Wichita State University signee led the PC with 17.7 points, 9.6 rebounds and 2.3 blocked shots per game while shooting a robust 59.0 percent from the field.

Hall was joined on the All-PC first-team by Goodsen, Gulf Coast Community College’s Travis Smith and two members of the PC Champion Chipola Indians – Marcos Knight and Keith Dewitt.

Named to the conference’s second-team were Tallahassee’s Leek Leek and Rashard McGill, Chipola’s Elijah Pittman, Pensacola State’s Justin Wright and Northwest Florida State’s Rod Rucker.

All remaining players who received votes in all-conference balloting were named honorable mention.

In addition to his first-team All-PC honor, Goodsen was the runaway pick for Freshman of the Year. He led all first-year players with 17.0 points per game and also averaged 6.0 rebounds while shooting 51.8 percent from the field.

Goodsen was joined on the PC All-Freshman team by fellow all-conference picks Leek, Pittman and Rucker, as well as Tallahassee’s Marterrace Brock.

In the women’s voting, Perkins was the lone unanimous first-team pick and ran away with Player of the Year honors. The Montgomery, Ala., native and University of Alabama signee averaged 15.5 points, 7.2 rebounds, 1.9 assists, 2.6 steals and 1.4 blocks for the PC Champion Lady Pirates. She also shot 59.5 percent from the floor.

Perkins was joined on the All-PC first-team by Pensacola State teammates Jessica Merritt and Karneshia Garrett, as well as Shaw and Gulf Coast’s Kyra Crosby.

Named to the conference’s second-team were Gulf Coast’s Bre’Anna Lewis and Porsha Harris, Northwest Florida State’s JoAnna Harden and Quortni Fambro and Pensacola State’s Brandy Broome.

Shaw emerged from a quartet of candidates to claim top freshman honors. She averaged 14.9 points and 4.1 rebounds while shooting 42.6 percent from the third-point line.

Shaw, Broome – the only unanimous all-freshman selection – Lewis and Harden were separated by a total of five points in the all-freshman voting. They were joined on the all-freshman team by Northwest Florida State’s Brandi Wingate-Holland.

2011 Panhandle Conference Media

All-PC Men’s Basketball Teams

First-team (points)

Carl Hall, So., Northwest Florida State (100)

Marcos Knight, So., Chipola (83)

Darren Goodsen, Fr., Pensacola State (80)

Keith Dewitt, So., Chipola (68)

Travis Smith, So., Gulf Coast (42)

Second-team (points)

Leek Leek, Fr., Tallahassee (37)

Rashard McGill, So., Tallahassee (33)

Elijah Pittman, Fr., Chipola (24)

Justin Wright, So., Pensacola State (24)

Rod Rucker, Fr., Northwest Florida State (23)

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically)

Richard Anderson, So., Tallahassee; Emmanuel Andrews, Fr., Northwest Florida State; Marterrace Brock, Fr., Tallahassee; Daronte Clark, Fr., Northwest Florida State; Sam Grooms, So., Chipola; Neiko Hunter, Fr., Northwest Florida State; Geron Johnson, Fr., Chipola; Antonie Myers, Fr., Pensacola State; Kahlil Owens, So., Northwest Florida State; Jordan Payton, So., Gulf Coast; Terrence Townes, Fr., Gulf Coast.

All-Freshman Team (points)

*Darren Goodsen, Pensacola State (51)

Leek Leek, Tallahassee (28)

Elijah Pittman, Chipola (25)

Marterrace Brock, Tallahassee (19)

Rod Rucker, Northwest Florida State (15)


Player of the Year: Carl Hall, Northwest Florida State

Freshman of the Year: Darren Goodsen, Pensacola State

Coach of the Year: Eddie Barnes, Tallahassee

2011 Panhandle Conference Media

All-PC Women’s Basketball Teams

First-team (points)

*Meghan Perkins, So., Pensacola State (105)

Jessica Merritt, So., Pensacola State (88)

Kyra Crosby, So., Gulf Coast (87)

Jasmine Shaw, Fr., Chipola (57)

Karneshia Garrett, So., Pensacola State (50)


Second-team (points)

Bre’Anna Lewis, Fr., Gulf Coast (32)

Porsha Harris, So., Gulf Coast (30)

JoAnna Harden, Fr., Northwest Florida State (28)

Brandy Broome, Fr., Pensacola State (23)

Quortni Fambro, So., Northwest Florida State (21)

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically)

Diamond Ashmore, So., Tallahassee; Kamiya Burwell, Fr., Tallahassee; Sara Djassi, Fr., Chipola; Darnisha Hamilton, Fr., Pensacola State; Jeniece Johnson, Fr., Chipola; Tawanna Lee, So., Pensacola State; Melissa Mendes, So., Northwest Florida State; Najat Ouardad, So., Pensacola State; Shanequa Phifer, Fr., Tallahassee; Keri Thomas, So., Tallahassee; Brandi Wingate-Holland, Fr., Northwest Florida State.

All-Freshman Team (points)

Jasmine Shaw, Chipola (35)

*Brandy Broome, Pensacola State (32)

JoAnna Harden, Northwest Florida State (30)

Bre’Anna Lewis, Gulf Coast (30)

Brandi Wingate-Holland, Northwest Florida State (18)


Player of the Year: Meghan Perkins, Pensacola State

Freshman of the Year: Jasmine Shaw, Chipola

Coach of the Year: Chanda Rigby, Pensacola State

All-PC Voting Panel

Bill Brownell, Panhandle Sports Broadcasting; Rob Chaney, Tallahassee Community College Sports Information/FCCAA Scoreboard Coordinator; Brad Cowan, Pensacola State College Sports Information; Herman Daniels, WKGC-FM; Sam Hinchee, Tallahassee Democrat; Becky Horn, Pensacola State College Sports Information; Steve Merchant, Gulf Coast Community College Sports Information; Adam Rosenberg, Northwest Florida Daily News; Ramsey Ross, Coordinator of Athletics, Northwest Florida State College; Greg Rowland, TCC Eagle Athletics Multimedia; Jason Shoot, Panama City News Herald; Bill Vilona, Pensacola News Journal.

All-PC voting is determined by a point system. Each voter’s top player receives 10 points, the second-best player, 9 points, etc. The top five vote getters (including ties), based on points, are named All-PC first-team. The next five are second-team and all remaining players who receive at least one point in voting are honorable mention. The top vote getter, based on points, is named Player of the Year.

All-Freshman voting is determined in similar fashion. Each voter’s top player receives 5 points, the second-best player, 4 points, etc. The top five vote getters (including ties) are named to the All-Freshman Team. The top vote getter, based on points, is named Freshman of the Year.

The coach who receives the most votes is named Coach of the Year.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus