Players Honored at FSU Men's Basketball Banquet

By  | 

Tallahassee - Seniors Okaro White and Ian Miller and sophomore Michael Ojo earned three awards each as the Florida State men’s basketball team was honored during its annual banquet at the Tom and Ginny Futch Ballroom inside the University Center Club. White, Miller and Ojo were the big winners as head coach Leonard Hamilton and his staff handed out 14 awards and honored the Seminoles’ senior class of White, Miller and Robert Gilchrist.

Florida State finished the 2013-14 season with a record of 22-14 and earned a trip to Madison Square Garden to play in the NIT Final Four. The Seminoles’ 22 victories included wins over ranked teams No. 10 VCU and No. 20 UMass, Notre Dame and at Pitt – and three exciting home wins over Florida Gulf Coast, Georgetown and Louisiana Tech in the NIT.
Florida State is the third winningest program in ACC play in the last nine seasons behind only Duke and North Carolina.
White, who ranked 14th in the ACC for rebounds in 2014, won the Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award for the second consecutive season. He shared the Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player and Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player awards and the award for the team’s best field goal percentage shooter to bring his career total of Florida State banquet awards to 12 including four as a junior in 2013.

White led the Seminoles with a career high 6.8 rebounds per game average as he closed his career with 696 total rebounds. The senior, who set a school record with 139 career games played, finished his career with a 13.6 points per game scoring average as a senior. The starting forward shared the best field goal percentage award with teammates Boris Bojanovsky and Michael Ojo. The Clearwater, Fla. native shared the Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player and Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player awards with sophomore Aaron Thomas.

Miller, who finished the season ranked third in the ACC with a .873 free throw percentage, was honored as the Seminole’s best free throw shooter and with the Sixth Man Award. He was also acknowledged by the ACC and by as the top sixth man in the ACC. Miller shared the Otto Petty Most Assist award with fellow point guard Devon Bookert.

Bookert also grabbed the accolade of finishing as the team’s best 3-point shooter with a mark of .431 from long range. It marked the second consecutive season he was honored with the 3-point shooting award. Bookert is the leading 3-point shooter in school history with a career mark of .466.

Freshman Brandon Allen was presented with the First Year Academic Achievement and Outstanding Student-Athlete awards as Redshirt senior Kiel Turpin was honored with the Most Improved Academic Student-Athlete. Allen currently has a 3.6 GPA in the arduous major of electrical engineering. Turpin earned his bachelor’s degree in interdisciplinary social science in December and is currently working on a second degree. He earned a perfect 4.0 GPA for the Summer and Fall semesters in 2013.
Florida State’s schedule becomes even more exciting in 2015 when Louisville becomes a member of the ACC and is added to the Seminoles’ already incredibly tough slate of conference games.
Award Winner
First Year Academic Achievement Brandon Allen
Outstanding Student-Athlete Brandon Allen
Most Improved Student Athlete Award Kiel Turpin
Mr. Hustle Michael Ojo
Sixth Man Award Ian Miller
Best Free Throw Percentage Award Ian Miller
Best Field Goal Percentage Boris Bojanovsky, Michael Ojo, Okaro White
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage Award Devon Bookert
Otto Petty Most Assists Award Devon Bookert, Ian Miller
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award Okaro White
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Aaron Thomas, Okaro White
Bob Sura Most Outstanding Offensive Player Aaron Thomas, Okaro White
Unsung Hero Award Montay Brandon
Tip Of The Spear Award Michal Ojo

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus