TCC places nine on All-PC basketball teams

By  | 

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (February 26, 2013) – Tallahassee Community College placed a total of nine players – four men, five women – on the Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference basketball teams, which were released on Tuesday.

Of the nine total selections, two – men’s basketball’s C.J. Washington and women’s basketball’s Jeraldine Campbell – were named first-team all-conference.

Washington, a sophomore from Augusta, Ga., and a University of Alabama-Birmingham signee, played in 26 games and averaged 14.8 points – second-best on the team – and led the Eagles with 6.8 rebounds per game. He shot just under 50.0 percent from the field - .497 to be exact (147-of-296) – and 66.7 percent (82-of-123) from the free throw line.

Washington led the Eagles in both scoring (13.4 ppg) and rebounds (5.9 rpg) in PC play.

Campbell, a sophomore from Shuqualak, Miss., was runner-up in Panhandle Conference Player of the Year voting to Gulf Coast State College’s Tamara Taylor. She led Tallahassee in scoring at 16.6 points per game and shot a team-best 80.6 percent (75-of-93) from the free throw line. She also averaged 5.5 rebounds, 1.1 assists and 1.9 steals in 22 games.

Campbell was even better in league play, averaging 18.7 points per game, highlighted by a school-record 38-point effort at Gulf Coast State on January 30.

In men’s voting, sophomore Curtis Diamond and freshmen Trevor McDade and Marlon Johnson were second-team all-conference selections.

Diamond, a native of Lithonia, Ga., averaged 12.5 points, 3.6 rebounds and 3.2 assists in 28 games.

McDade, a native of Bowie, Md., led the Eagles in scoring at 15.3 points per game and also averaged 4.0 rebounds and 2.9 assists in 28 games.

Johnson, who hails from Chicago, Ill., averaged 7.4 points and 5.9 rebounds in 28 games.

Tallahassee had two players named second-team all-conference in the women’s voting: sophomore Alexis Grant and freshman Sofia da Silva. Sophomores Sarah Williams and Yanique Gordon were named honorable mention All-PC.

Grant, a native of Brooklyn, N.Y., averaged 9.3 points, 3.7 rebounds and 2.9 steals in 26 games.

da Silva, a native of Portugal, averaged 7.8 points and 6.3 rebounds in 19 games.

Williams, a Roanoke, Va., native and Virginia Tech verbal, averaged 5.8 points, 2.4 rebounds and 1.9 assists in 17 games.

Gordon, who is from Hanover, Jamaica, averaged 5.9 points and 4.8 rebounds in 16 games.

2013 Men’s Basketball Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference Teams

First-team: Chris Jones, Northwest Florida State; Elgin Cook, Northwest Florida State; Chad Frazier, Gulf Coast State; Carlos Morris, Chipola; Kruize Pinkins, Chipola; Qiydar Davis, Pensacola State; Jose Rodriguez, Gulf Coast State; C.J. Washington, Tallahassee; Cinmeon Bowers, Chipola; Devon Baulkman, Gulf Coast State; Devin Wilson, Pensacola State; Lamin Fulton, Northwest Florida State.

Second-team: Demetrious Floyd, Chipola; Trevor McDade, Tallahassee; Michael Chandler, Northwest Florida State; Shykeem Jackson, Northwest Florida State; Leonard Smith, Gulf Coast State; Denzel Richardson, Pensacola State; Arthur Edwards, Northwest Florida State; Curtis Diamond, Tallahassee; Chris Thomas, Chipola; Earl Watson, Chipola; Marlon Johnson, Tallahassee; Andrew Fishler, Gulf Coast State.

Honorable Mention: Terel Hall, Chipola; Tevin Glass, Northwest Florida State.

Player of the Year: Chris Jones, Northwest Florida State

Coach of the Year: Steve Forbes, Northwest Florida State

2013 Women’s Basketball Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference Teams

First-team: Tamara Taylor, Gulf Coast State; Jeraldine Campbell, Tallahassee; Rayven Brooks, Chipola; Kiani Parker, Northwest Florida State; Jessica Morton, Gulf Coast State; Kristine Brance, Chipola; Tavarsha Scott, Northwest Florida State; Necole Sterling, Gulf Coast State; Carla Batchelor, Northwest Florida State; Luiana Livulo, Northwest Florida State; LaShonda Littleton, Chipola; Alexis Horton, Pensacola State.

Second-team: Jasmine Crawford, Chipola; Allysia Rohlehr, Pensacola State; Jade Givens, Chipola; Melinda Brimfield, Gulf Coast State; Roshina Rosario, Gulf Coast State; Shomari Kendrick, Pensacola State; Rudiane Eduardo, Northwest Florida State; Tori Carter, Northwest Florida State; Sofia da Silva, Tallahassee; Marlisa Braxton, Gulf Coast State; Rahni Bell, Chipola; Alexis Grant, Tallahassee.

Honorable Mention: Treyvonna Brooks, Chipola; Assista Maiga, Gulf Coast State; Alyssa Dupree, Northwest Florida State; Teadra Jones, Pensacola State; Sarah Williams, Tallahassee; Yanique Gordon, Tallahassee.

Player of the Year: Tamara Taylor, Gulf Coast State

Co-Coach of the Year: Vernette Skeete, Gulf Coast State and Patrick Harrington, Northwest Florida State