Florida State Announces 2011 Athletics Hall Of Fame

By: FSU Sports Information Email
By: FSU Sports Information Email

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Florida State's Athletic Hall of Fame will grow by seven members on Friday, September 2 during the annual induction ceremony. FSU will welcome football stars Chris Weinke and Sam Cowart, former baseball star Marshall McDougall, basketball legend Brooke Wyckoff, track and field great Tonja Brown, Olympic medal winning swimmer Stephen Parry and Moore-Stone Award recipient Andy Miller , the long-time president of Seminole Boosters.

A limited number of $75.00 tickets for the 2011 induction ceremony are available for purchase to the public and can be obtained by calling 850-556-0433 or via email to fsuhalloffame@gmail.com. The ceremony will be held at the University Center Club with a social hour beginning at 5:30 p.m. and dinner and the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Weinke won the Heisman Trophy as a senior in 2000 and led the Seminoles to the National Championship in 1999 and enters the hall in his first year of eligibility. Wyckoff, ironically, just joined the women's basketball coaching staff a few months ago and the program has already retired her jersey. Cowart and Brown both left FSU as two of the schools most accomplished athletes and in addition to his eight-time All-America status, Parry won a bronze medal swimming for England in the 2004 Olympics. One of McDougall's accomplishments, six home runs in one game, is consistently listed among the records that experts feel has a chance to never be broken.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 126130573 - wctv.tv/a?a=126130573
Gray Television, Inc.