Tennis Garners Multiple GSC Awards

By: VSU Sports Communications
By: VSU Sports Communications

Valdosta, GA - Valdosta State Tennis took home multiple Gulf South Conference awards this week. On the men’s side, VSU swept the major awards of Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year. A number of players from both the men’s and women’s teams made All-GSC.

Philip Pakebusch earned his second consecutive Player of the Year award. He is the 12th overall honoree from Valdosta State and marks the third consecutive season in which a Blazer has won the award.

He has gone 9-2 in the top spot in singles for VSU and 13-2 in the second doubles spot with Luis Loeffler. His feats have earned him a national ranking of No. 2 in singles and No. 11 in doubles with Loeffler.

Speaking of Loeffler, he took home the GSC Freshman of the Year award. Loeffler is the first Blazer to take home the award since 2007, but he is the fourth VSU player to earn it. In addition to his doubles play, he has gone 12-1 in singles this season, mostly at the fourth position.

John Hansen took home his 11th GSC Coach of the Year award and his second in a row. At the helm of this year’s squad, he led them to the GSC Championship and a No. 1 national ranking.

While three Blazers took home the big awards, multiple VSU tennis players were named All-GSC. On the men’s side, Daniel Dueren and Christian Hansen made the list with Pakebusch and Loeffler. Hansen and Loeffler make their first appearance on the team while it is Pakebusch’s second. Dueren made the team for the third time.

For the women, Sarah Braun and Alina Nagel earned All-GSC honors. Both players are freshman, but made an impact early in their careers. The two have teamed up to rank 19th nationally in doubles play. They play in the top spot for VSU and first and second respectively in singles action.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WCTV 1801 Halstead Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32309
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 120511789 -
Gray Television, Inc.